A Film in Images: Winter Light

If you were to ask me what the best-shot movie of all time is, I would think for a long while and reply “Ingmar Bergman’s Winter Light.” I made this quite difficult decision a few hours ago, whilst skimming through the film and taking images out of it for this post. Every shot in that movie is perfect. Sven Nykvist, whom I’ve always believed is the best cinematographer/photographer to ever live, captures stunningly perfect images in every frame. There is a well known story that he and Bergman sat and watched the sunlight move across the inside of a building for an entire day while researching how this movie was going to be shot. It’s true, and it paid off. The use of sunlight (or artificial light) in the film is strikingly powerful, and the contrast between black and white (though the film is very bright and not physically that dark) is stunning in several key scenes. See for yourself in these images I’ve taken from the movie, which is also my favourite Bergman film and my third favourite film of all time.

Film: Winter Light (1962)

Director: Ingmar Bergman

Cinematographer: Sven Nykvist

Posted on August 14, 2012, in Images, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Great post, it sure looks like a visually stunning watch.

  2. Excellent screen shots. Winter’s Light is definitely one of the most visually stunning films Bergman ever made, which is saying quite a lot.

    I need to hash out his whole faith trilogy again one day. Those three movies are so deeply affecting.

    • Haha that is saying quite a lot, but this really has to be his best movie. I think it is, anyway. Though that’s an insanely difficult call.

      Definitely rewatch the Faith trilogy at some point. All three are perfect movies.

  3. Gorgeous shots from a brilliant cinematographer. At #53, this film is much too low on my top 100 list. I’ll definitely move it up considerably when I update it again.

  4. Beautiful choices! I really liked cinematography in this one and it definetly added a lot to the film, but out of Bergman’s film I prefer the one in Wild Strawberries and Persona.

  5. Beautiful shots, Tyler. B/W films can be so much more evocative.

Leave a Reply

