Movie Confessions Blogathon

The fantastic Nostra at Myfilmviews has created an ingenious idea for a new blogathon, called the Movie Confessions blogathon. The idea is that the participants confess things about the movies they might have kept secret for a long time. It’s as simple as that, so let’s begin with Nostra’s first question:

Name a classic movie you don’t like/can’t enjoy and why?

Not brief enough.

Brief Encounter (1945). I wouldn’t say I hate it, but I didn’t enjoy it at all and thought the acting was bad and the film is collossally overrated.

Name ten classic movies you haven’t seen yet.

The Great Dictator (1940), Sunrise (1927), Black Narcissus (1946), It’s a Wonderful Life (1946), The African Queen (1951), All About Eve (1951), Ugetsu (1953), Night of the Living Dead (1968), Mean Streets (1973), McCabe and Mrs. Miller (1971)

Have you ever snuck into another movie at the cinema?

When I was a kid I think I tried a couple of times, but never successfully.

Which actor/actress do you think is overrated?

Bryce Dallas fucking Howard. If there was an award for most overrated actress of all time, she’d win it. A terrible, horrid waste of screen space.

From which big director have you never seen any movie (and why)?

Hmm, this is tricky because I try and make it a point to see at least one film from all directors I’m interested in. Think I’ll stick with the classic theme and say Preston Sturges.

Which movie do you love, but is generally hated?

There are a lot of these. My choice is probably an obvious one to people who know me, but I’ll say it anyway: The Brown Bunny (2003). Stunningly underrated movie that affects me emotionally in new ways with each viewing.

Have you ever been “one of those annoying people” at the cinema?

No. I’m generally the quietest person in the room, unless I’m telling someone off for being a fuckhead (which I’ve done more than once).

Did you ever watch a movie, which you knew in advance would be bad, just because a specific actor/actress was in it? Which one and why?

Vampire’s Kiss for Nic Cage. And you know what? It was a pretty good film.

Did you ever not watch a specific movie because it had subtitles?

No.

Are there any movies you have in your collection for five years and haven’t watched?

Not ones I’ve had for five years. Although I haven’t seen The Rocky Horror Picture Show in four years and I bought it three years ago.

Which are the worst movies in your collection and why do you still own them?

I don’t really own any terrible movies, to be honest.

Do you have any confessions about your movie watching setup at home?

Well, sometimes I watch films on the computer. Not all the time, but sometimes sure. And I used to never do that.

Any other confessions you want to make?

No thanks, I think I’ve ruined my reputation indefinitely already.

Posted on July 22, 2012, in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. I’m honestly surprised about you not having seen Sunrise or The Great Dictator. My secret confession amounts to the fact that I detest It’s a Wonderful Life. I love sap, but one risks getting diabetes from that film.

    • Sunrise, The Great Dictator and – yes – It’s a Wonderful Life are all high up on my watchlist. Interested to see what I think of them.

  2. If you think your reputation is ruined by those answers I’ll quietly answer them in my head.

  3. I wholeheartedly nominate The Night of the Hunter for a classic movie that I hate. If I was Robert Mitchum, I would have tried to shank those kids too. The cinematography was absolutely gorgeous, but the film itself sucked at everything else.

    All About Eve is only worth seeing for Bette Davis’ bitchiness, George Sanders’ slyness and Marilyn Monroe’s brief but effective comedic chops. Otherwise, the movie was dull. There was pretty much no real interesting plot past the midway point.

    I’ve only seen Bryce in The Help and 50/50. Her characters in both, while effective, were really one-dimensional. I think Meryl Streep is the one I’d go with in that category. *hides*

    I always sneak into another room at the movies. There’s no security. I thought that was normal. Whoops~

    For big directors, I still need to see a Bela Tarr film, and his films sound like my kind of films. I almost ordered Satantango from Barnes & Noble, but it amounted to almost 100 dollars. Sorry, college student here.

    I loved Marie Antoinette (Sofia Coppola’s) and most people I know hate it.

    I only watch bad films because my sister who has horrible taste in movies (the usual Adam Sandler or crappy rom coms or 3D mindless action vehicles) insists on family night. But try to get her to watch a foreign or arthouse film and she’d sooner die. I only put up with her crap because seeing bad films makes me appreciate the masterpieces even more.

    I mostly watch films on my laptop since I feel it is a more private experience. But knowing how meticulous you are about your movie watching and the rules you set during such instances, well, shame on you, Tyler.

    • Haha the only problem I had with Night of the Hunter was its unnecessary epilogue.

      I don’t love Meryl Streep either. The Iron Lady is an overrated film if ever there was one, and I don’t think she deserved an Oscar for it.

      I paid $50 for Satantango and it was worth every penny. Tarr is one of my favourite directors and his film Werckmeister Harmonies is my favourite movie of all time – you can see an image from it at the header on the top of every page on this site.

      Marie Antoinette was a bad movie, but I do like Sofia Coppola a lot (I absolutely love her film Somewhere, a vastly underrated gem).

  4. Great post, you should watch Black Narcissus it is a really intense and well filmed drama.

  5. It’s official — I need to participate in this.

  6. I’m not that surprised about the classics from the 1940s and 50s that you haven’t seen, but I figured you would’ve seen Mean Streets. It’s definitely a must-see.

    I saw The Wicker Man because of Nicolas Cage, but that wasn’t very good, unfortunately. I do want to see Vampire’s Kiss though.

  7. I just saw this one over at Sati’s blog, and I can’t wait to do it! Out of the ten you haven’t seen, I’d say go for…..Sunrise first (it’s one of my favourites). My list of ten I haven’t seen is going to be very embarrassing!

  8. Ahah, that picture of Nic Cage in Vampire’s Kiss is a hoot!! I want to rent that now, I mean for guilty pleasure sake. I knew the answer for the subtitle question, Tyler, I mean most movies you watch probably has subtitles 😀

    • I’d say a good 70% of the movies I watch aren’t in English.

      Vampire’s Kiss is hilarious. I can’t wait to see it again.

  9. I enjoyed reading your answers, and I like your sense of humor. You seem like somebody I’d get along with. 😉 And you should definitely see The African Queen. It’s terrific.

  10. Fun confessions. I’m surprised with how much It’s a Wonderful Life has been showing up on people’s lists actually.

    I know nothing of The Brown Bunny and am looking it up right now. Nice post

    • The Brown Bunny‘s got a very notorious reputation for certain reasons I won’t elaborate, but trust me, it’s a much better film than it sounds. I thought so, anyway, can’t guarantee anyone else will agree.

  11. Of your list of unwatched classics lists I would start with “The African Queen” and accompany it with “White Hunter, Black Heart”.

  12. I can’t believe how many people haven’t seen It’s a Wonderful Life. I didn’t see it until last Christmas, and everyone gave me a hard time about that. This makes me feel a little better, heh. Although come to think of it, I’m not sure I have ever seen A Christmas Story in one sitting (speaking of holiday movies). Oh well.

  13. Alex Withrow

    I think you’d really like McCabe and Mrs. Miller. I don’t remember you bashing Howard for her Manderlay performance… no good?

    I dig The Brown Bunny!

    • I can’t wait to see McCabe. The first time I saw Manderlay I liked the film but Howard really ruined it for me. The more I thought about it, the less I liked it. Then I gave the film another chance and downright hated it.

      Nice to hear you liked The Brown Bunny. Doesn’t get enough love.

  14. You should watch The Great Dictator, it’s the one Chaplin movie I have given a 10. I didn’t like The African Queen and wasn’t a fan of All About Eve either. Some of the other ones I have not seen yet.

    Interested to hear more about your attempts at sneaking into another movie!

    You didn’t ruin your reputation with your confessions, no worries! 🙂

    • I definitely want to see The Great Dictator as I’ve seen other Chaplin and enjoyed them but this one looks especially great.

  15. When I was reading your list of classic films that you haven’t seen, I thought you were talkin gabout Mean Girls and not Mean Street. It did amuse me for that second, like “what! how could he put Mean Girls amongst the greats”.

    “No thanks, I think I’ve ruined my reputation indefinitely already.” — lol brilliant!

  16. There are some films on your must-watch list that you must watch, like, NOW! Especially African Queen, but of course I have to say that one. All About Eve and The Great Dictator are also personal favorites. Here’s my list of confessions:
    http://thegreatkh.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/movie-confessions-blogathon.html

  17. I think we need to do a mass viewing of It’s a Wonderful Life, out of all the movies people might have missed I am shocked people were able to avoid it as it seems to be on all the time during the Holidays, well that and Christmas Vacation. 😉

    Night of the Living Dead is awesome, more a social commentary on race issues than a zombie film.

    • Haha interesting idea. A mass viewing would be something indeed.

      I can’t wait to see Night of the Living Dead, and it’ll be sooner rather than later.

  18. Is it strange that I feel honoured for having seen one of your movies you haven’t seen but want to see? It’s All About Eve. Pretty good film.
    Otherwise, I don’t think you’ve ruined your reputation, most of your answers weren’t very bad.

  1. Pingback: Movie Confessions Blogathon « My Filmviews

Leave a Reply

