The Very Best of The Good Doctor

Recently I’ve been listening to some of the many audio and video film reviews by Mark Kermode. For those of you who don’t know him, he’s a British film critic who’s not afraid to speak his mind about films and film-related subjects that concern, interest, disgust, appall and intrigue him. He has a radio show with Simon Mayo that can be downloaded as a podcast via iTunes, and his reviews are simultaneously insightful, funny, brilliant and down-to-Earth.

But for me, Mark Kermode is at his best when ranting. After listening to numerous reviews on YouTube, I’ve selected four of his best negative rants about films he absolutely loathes with a passion. I highly recommend you give them a listen, and you will find yourself amused and entertained, whether you agree with him or not. The four absolutely horrible films I’ve selected to embed here are: Transformers: Dark of the Moon, New Year’s Eve, Seven Pounds and The Da Vinci Code.

Give them a listen and let me know what you think. Some of them are quite long, but they’re brilliant and you won’t regret it.

Posted on July 5, 2012, in Movie Reviews, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. My favorite Kermode rant is for Sex & the City 2, man that was a rare moment when I needed something to laugh at during my year of depression. He was wailing on that entire film from start to finish. And I did see that film on TV, he wasn’t exaggerating at all. I love the Kermodian rants though there’s times when the good doctor is wrong like his opinion on Sofia Coppola.

    • I heard him briefly talk about it on his bottom films of the year list but I don’t think I’ve listened to the full review. Will do so now.

  2. As I said on Twitter I’m a huge fan. I can’t recommend his books enough and the show is my first priority among podcasts every week. This said: there are moments when I disagree with him. As in the case of Coppola. But I can live with that. He’s knowledgable, passionate and has a wonderful way with words that always keeps you entertained while you actually also get some insights. The best film critic there is if you ask me.

    • I’m definitely going to get his books. Even when he’s disagreeable, he’s entertaining to listen to. I agree he’s the best critic out there today.

  3. On Transformers 3: ‘In this bit we need some acting…’

    Hilarious, when you criticize a movie this entertainingly, I could listen all day! About to read his ‘It’s Only a Movie’ book!

    • Hahaha everything about the Transformers 3 rant is hilarious. I actually have been listening to his reviews all day for the past few days. Brilliant!

  4. Haha, he is the man! That Transformers 3 one is FAR better than the movie!

  5. Never listened to him before, but these are fun to listen to…will check out the podcast.

    • It’s a great podcast. I’m addicted to his stuff. God knows how many films I could’ve watched in the amount of time I’ve spent listening to Kermode.

  6. I am glad you are digging Dr K. He is a legend over here… LOVE HIM too much

  7. How have I missed this guy? He’s hilarious. I’ll be checking out the podcast. Thanks for the tip!

    • The podcast is brilliant, and so are his Kermode Uncut blogs, and reviews with Simon Mayo. The man’s a genius, and there’s so much of his work available.

  8. Hi, Tyler and company:

    Love me some Mark Kermode!

    His occasional rant-like review reminds me a lot of Harvey Lembeck’s biker, Eric Von Zipper, from many Annette/Frankie Avalon, Bikini films of the 1960s. When Kermode don’t like a film. It STAYS don’t liked!

    Also appreciate the electric chain saw he wields from the logo for ‘CimemaMassacre’ during his vivisection of ‘New Year’s Eve’.

    Kermode also plays ‘Skiffle’:

  9. Ha, good old Kermode. The best has to be Bride Wars, his Kate Hudson impression was a golden moment.

  10. Oh shit, that Transformers review is bliss. This dude has balls, and it’s fantastic to watch.

    • I’m telling you, this guy’s reviews are addictive. I don’t know how many hours I’ve spent listening to him. The man is an absolute genius.

Leave a Reply

