Classic Movie Month Weekly Update: May 23

Sixteen days ago I officially started my May 2012: Classic Movie Month, a month looking at classic Hollywood movies that will most likely extend into June as well. As I reported a week ago in my last update, I only saw four ‘classic’ movies during my first week of the marathon, but during the second week, as I’m about to reveal, I made an improvement and saw more than four, and I aim to check another one tonight. To see a complete list of the movies I plan to watch throughout the whole marathon, read the original post here.

Here’s what I’ve watched since May 15:

Safety Last! (1923)

Rebel Without a Cause (1955)

The Red Shoes (1948)

Citizen Kane (1941) – REWATCH

The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance (1962)

The Grapes of Wrath (1940)

The Big Sleep (1946)

Brief Encounter (1945)

Touch of Evil (1958)

Gone with the Wind (1939)

I think that’s pretty good for one week, considering I also watched other films unrelated to the marathon. What do you think?

Posted on May 23, 2012, in Lists, Movies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Christ, I wish I could watch that much in just one week… How have you been going on the whole? I know from Twitter you weren’t thrilled by Brief Encounter…

    • On the whole, things have been going quite nicely. Been a busy month in terms of film. Very pleased with what I’ve seen.

      And yeah, Brief Encounter was disappointing.

  2. I came across your post and could not help to read it. I love movies myself and would like to set a goal like yourself to watch the classics because without them there wouldn’t be some good ones today.

    • I’m really glad I set this marathon up for myself. Many of the classics I’ve watched so far have been great. Thanks for commenting!

  3. Darling, if you knew how proud I am of you doing this…

  4. Glad you’re keeping up w/ this Tyler. So what did you think of Gone with the Wind? It’s ok, you can be honest 🙂 I still need to see The Red Shoes! Been wanting to check that out for ages.

    • Gone with the Wind was great, but not perfect. It got a little dull and less interesting toward the end, but the first half was epic. Loved it.

      • Woo hoo! Glad you at least appreciated it. Epic is right but there are some boring moments in there, I agree. Selznick could easily cut maybe 20 min from the film but he’s known for being indulgent.

        • Haha I find a lot of movie epics are at times over-indulgent. It didn’t bother me too much in Gone with the Wind, though.

  5. love citizen kane 🙂

  6. Sorry you didn’t like Brief Encounter but what did you think of The Red Shoes?

  7. thefilmfreak

    I live in Austin, and every summer Paramount Theatre has a Classic Film Series, although sometimes the word classic is a bit of a stretch for some of the films they show. Needless to say, I usually have a fun summer either catching a favorite film for the umpteenth time, catching a film for the first time on the big screen, or catching something entirely new to me. This summer’s offerings look pretty good, and like you, I’m a huge Bergman fan, and will get a chance to see Summer with Monika and Cries and Whispers for the first time on the big screen. As you can imagine, I’m very excited. And there are several other films I’m looking forward to seeing as well. Here’s the link if you want to check out what they’re showing or perhaps curse me for sharing. 🙂
    http://www.austintheatre.org/site/PageServer?pagename=summer_film_series

  8. Ohh, Touch of Evil and The Red Shoes are two great flicks. Glad you caught up with those.

  9. I just watched Touch of Evil myself. It may be my new favorite Welles film. So, so good.

Leave a Reply

