365 Days, 316 Posts: Southern Vision’s First Birthday!

On this day, one year ago, your humble blogger created this site, which was at that time unnamed. I wrote a couple of posts over the next few days, forgot about it for about a month, then decided to start posting regularly. At that time, ‘regularly’ meant once every two or three days. In May, it started becoming really regular. I made the IMDb Hit-List and one of my posts was Freshly Pressed on WordPress, two massive achievements, mere days apart. It was after these achievements I decided to really take blogging seriously. I updated the site’s look, began following other blogs, and posting nearly every day. Here we are, one year later. I’ve published a total of 316 posts, have received thousands of comments, and had a total of 117,000 pageviews. My most viewed posts are Ten Great Indie Comedies You Must See posted on May 16, What’s Your Movie Sin? posted on May 21, and The Ten Best Films About The Holocaust posted on July 21. My top commenters are Scott Lawlor, Christian Hallbeck, dirtywithclass, rtm, and Stevee.

Thanks are in order, of course. Thank you to everyone who has viewed a page, left a comment, added me to a blogroll, recommended a post of mine or simply given Southern Vision the briefest of thoughts. All of these contributions mean so much to me, and I value them in ways beyond comprehension. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Here’s to one year of blogging, and hopefully many years to come!

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Blog-Related News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. Happy B-day to your blog and thanks for the awesome recap,I’m expecting a bigger one though

  2. Congrats to one impressive year of blogging Tyler!

  3. Congratulations! Another great landmark!

  4. Impressive stats, congratulations on an amazing first year!

  5. Happy Birthday dude!! And look at me Mr Mainstream being a top commenter!! 🙂

    Here is to the next year!

  6. Happy birthday! And here’s to hoping for many more to come. Keep up the great work, Tyler!

  7. Happy Birthday !! It is a great blog Tyler. You should be proud of your achievements. Keep it coming !!

  8. Geez… the milestones just keep coming! Once again, “Congrats!”.

  9. Happy Birthday :D.
    I didn’t know your blog is so young – it seems very professional!

  10. Happy blog birthday man 🙂 Even if we don’t agree on every film i enjoy your unique tastes. And i think you might like the pitch i am planning. It has elements of the Piano teacher to it 😉

  11. Happy Birthday to your blog! You’ve come such a long way in one year…since I started following you your posts have been consistently great, and of course, rather entertaining. Also, without your blog I wouldn’t be watching foreign films like I do now. So thank you!

    • Thanks Stevee! You are one of my most valued readers and you yourself are a great blogger and person! Glad to be having an effect on the films you watch.

  12. I’m a day late but happy blog birthday! You have a fine blog here and I hope you have many more.

  13. Happy belated birthday! Keep up the great work, Tyler!

  14. Happy bloganniversary Tyler! Here is to a successful and prosperous 2nd year 😀

  15. Happy Blog Birthday Tyler… All the best to you for the future.

  16. Happy birthday, Southern Vision! You’re a very talented writer, and I look forward to seeing what your second year brings 😀

  17. Love this website. You keep me up on some foreign movies I should not be missing. Happy Birthday.

Leave a Reply

