Introducing… The ALL-TIME FAVOURITES SERIES!

Welcome to the All-Time Favourites Series, a weekly series of posts where I review one of my all-time favourite movies. Each one is rated 10/10 by me, and they all feature somewhere among my 100 favourite films. The reason I’m doing this is that otherwise I’d probably never get a chance to review and/or truly share my love for these films with you in full, unbounded, unlimited writing, so I hope you’ll join in in reading what I write and leaving feedback. I’m not going to review any films in this post, but I am going to provide you with a list of the reviews you can expect in the coming weeks as part of the ATFS.

In no particular order, the films are:

The Three Colours Trilogy (1994)

Fanny and Alexander (1982)

2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)

The 400 Blows (1959)

The Seventh Seal (1957)

8 1/2 (1963)

Persona (1966)

Napoleon (1927)

The Double Life of Veronique (1991)

Caché (2005)

Inland Empire (2006)

Stranger than Paradise (1984)

Code Unknown (2000)

The Leopard (1963)

Cries and Whispers (1972)

The Piano Teacher (2001)

Sans Soleil (1983)

The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie (1972)

The White Ribbon (2009)

Last Year at Marienbad (1961)

Week End (1967)

Eyes Wide Shut (1999)

Magnolia (1999)

Citizen Kane (1941)

The Decalogue (1988)

So, how many of these have you seen? One review (or perhaps two) will be posted each week until this list is completed. There are 25 films here, but let’s be clear: these aren’t my all time Top 25. They are a wide variety of films, all of which can be found on my Top 100 films list. Some of them have been reviewed here at Southern Vision before, but I’d just like to refresh my reviews of films I’ve already written about by writing something new and hopefully better than my older review. These are 25 films that I consider essential viewing for everyone; not everyone will like them, but I sure as hell love them all to pieces, which is why I’m doing this series, so I can share my love of them to you and maybe if I’m lucky, get you to add one or two to your rental list.

In any case, please let me know what you think of this list, and what titles might feature on your own, in the comments below.

Posted on November 6, 2011, in All-Time Favourites, Lists, Movie Reviews, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Out of this lot I’ve seen Three Colours Blue (though not White or Red), The Seventh Seal,
    2001: A Space Odyssey (twice on the big screen in 70mm!), The 400 Blows, Fanny and Alexander, 8 1/2, Persona, Napoleon, The Double Life of Veronique, Caché, The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie, Breaking the Waves, Week End, Eyes Wide Shut, The Hour of the Wolf, Magnolia, Citizen Kane, and though I haven’t seen The Decalogue I have seen part of A Short Film About Killing.

    I wouldn’t have a clue what to put on my own list if I were to do one.

  2. I am looking forward to reading your reviews!Your choices are fantastic!

  3. Totally agree with you on Eyes Wide Shut, Citizen Kane, and 8 1/2. I liked the Discreet charm movie, although i’m not sure for me i would consider it one of my all time favorites, but then again your tastes are far more artier than mine so that could be the reason.

    And speaking of Kubrick, my Full metal Jacket post is taking annoyingly long. I don’t know why, but i keep having trouble with it

    • DISCREET CHARM needs to be approached with more of an open mind. It takes time to appreciate it, but it is a very good film if you know the meaning, and Bunuel has said that plain and simply, there is no meaning. It is simply an attack on the bourgeois and nothing else.

  4. I like forward to reading these, Tyler! I’ve only seen 2001: A Space Odyssesy :P

    Most of them are on my rental list, though, courtesy of your top 100 films list!

  5. I only saw 4 of them! Not surprising though knowing our differences in taste ;) Some of them I’m still planning to see though!

    • I much prefer it that people haven’t seen most of the movies on my list. That way they can read my All Time Favourites reviews and learn something from them. Hope you enjoy my reviews. :)

  6. I’ve seen 17 of them. Of those I haven’t seen, I’m most interested in Napoleon (1927).

    I’m most looking forward to your thoughts on Week End (1967) because, well, I hate that film.

    • I definitely, definitely, definitely recommend NAPOLEON. It’s my second favourite silent film after THE BATTLESHIP POTEMKIN.

      I have met unanimously more people who have hated WEEK END than those who have liked it. Here’s the real kick in the guts: I think it’s Godard’s best film.

  7. Mine:

    Some Like it Hot, Pulp Fiction, A Hard Day’s Night, Citizen Kane, Eternal Sunshine, Psycho, Modern Times, The Great Dictator, The Best Years of Our Lives

  8. thefilmfreak

    Have seen all but 2 from this list. I also noticed that The Leopard is not on your “top 100 films” list, so wanted to know if you just haven’t updated the list, and if so, what got bumped off? I think Week-end is one of Godard’s best, and think Discreet Charm is brilliant and easily in my top 10.

  1. Pingback: The All-Time Favourites #1: The Three Colours Trilogy « Southern Vision

  2. Pingback: The All-Time Favourites #3: 2001: A Space Odyssey « Southern Vision

  3. Pingback: The All-Time Favourites #4: The 400 Blows « Southern Vision

  4. Pingback: The All-Time Favourites #5: The Seventh Seal « Southern Vision

  5. Pingback: The All-Time Favourites #6: 8 1/2 « Southern Vision

  6. Pingback: The All-Time Favourites #9: The Double Life of Veronique « Southern Vision

  7. Pingback: The All-Time Favourites #11: Inland Empire (2006) « Southern Vision

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,025 other followers

