Houdini’s Magic Ticket: MOVIE BLOGATHON

Over at Top 10 Films, the guys have come up with their own interesting blogathon which I think is a fantastic idea. The idea is based on the film Last Action Hero, and brings to life the speculation: “What if you could actually jump into the world of one of your favourite movies?” This simple question prompted the guys to start their blogathon, featuring nine great questions which I’ve answered here:

What character would I most like to be sat next to on a plane?

Col. Kurtz (Marlon Brando) in Apocalypse Now. Just from his amazing monologue in that film, I am already deeply fascinated by this disturbed man, a truly unforgettable nightmarish person whose brain I’d love to pick. Seriously, I can’t be the only person who just skips to the last 30 minutes occasionally just to hear him speak from the darkness with that cold, sharp voice.

What character would I most want to enjoy a passionate romance with?

That’s easy. I’m going to cheat and put two characters here, both played by the same actress in films by the same director. I think they’re pretty much the same character anyway: Veronique (Irene Jacob) in The Double Life of Veronique and Valentine (Irene Jacob) in Three Colours: Red. They are two very similar people, and in case you’re wondering, I am not trying to imply a threesome. I would take either one of these two, but as they’re so goddamn similar it’s impossible to choose between them.

If I were a cop, who would I want as my partner?

Easy. Martin Riggs (Mel Gibson) in the Lethal Weapon movies is a hell of a cop, a funny guy, and a generally great person, so I’d definitely choose Riggs. I am not too old for this shit! Though preferably without Leo Getz, if possible. As much as I’d like to meet Joe Pesci, just… not in this movie.

What animated feature would I love to walk around in?

As much as I hate the movie Avatar, I would have to pick Pandora. It’s a movie that fails in terms of plot and sense, but visually it is undeniably spectacular, and who would not want to go there? Seriously, people… it’s a perfect world.

What adventure based on Earth would I most like to go on?

I’d probably like to experience what Gil experienced in Midnight in Paris. Just to experience a world with all those famous figures, get to talk to them, and chat up Marion Cotillard… ahh. Such a happy movie in such a delightful place.

What adventure based on an otherworldly, fantasy-based location would I most like to go on?

The stargate sequence in 2001: A Space Odyssey. Seriously, to experience the last 40 minutes of that movie in real life would be… astonishing. Breathtaking. Beautiful. All the adjectives I can think of to describe it and it is still not enough. This is probably the easiest question for me in this whole blogathon. That sequence = fuck yeah.

What movie gadget would I love to try out (or steal)?

This is a hard one, mainly because I cannot really think of an answer at all (I’m probably not thinking hard enough). But I think I’m gonna go with one of the totems from Inception. It’s not really a gadget, per se, but I’d just love to have a spinning top that could tell me whether I was dreaming or not.

What film’s plot would I alter and how would I do it?

Mouchette, by Robert Bresson, is one of the most heartbreaking, sad movies I have ever seen. I am glad I saw it, but I would give anything to be able to enter that movie and stop Mouchette from meeting that man in the woods, as well as taking her out of that godforsaken town, away from her awful family to a nicer place, a safer place. Anything to prevent that film’s disturbing, saddening ending from happening.

What film would I most want to be transported into, simply to be a part of that world?

Simple. The rich, wonderful, beautiful home of the titular characters in Ingmar Bergman’s Fanny and Alexander. That film is definitely the most visually beautiful film I have ever watched, and to live in that amazing world would be just… sublime. Perfect. The film’s opening prologue alone makes me yearn to be there and experience it. If I had to spend my life lost inside one movie, it would have to be this one.

Those are my answers to the questions raised in Dan’s blogathon, which you can find here. Check some of the other bloggers who’ve participated out as well… they’ve all done some really fabulous work. Let me know in the comments below which world you’d like to be transported into, or if you’ve done a post on this yourself, leave a link to it so I can read it. Thanks.

Posted on October 25, 2011, in Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Nice list Tyler. Kind of surprised of only one Bergman entry though. =)

  2. Re: Fanny & Alexander: I’m a little bit surprised that you want to be a member of that family. I remember it as a bit disturbed. But it’s been a while since I watched it. Pandora was a nice choice for a world to explore! I’d totally love to do that myself. Provided you gave me a suitable body so I could swing properly in the trees.

    • Hahaha I just think the world of FANNY AND ALEXANDER is such a rich, beautiful place. I’m not talking about the second half of the movie where their mother moves in with that crazy guy who puts bars on their window. I mean places like in the first half of the movie, where they have that fantastic celebration, and the film’s magical ending, too.

  3. Brilliant character to sit next to on a plane – I think most, including me, have chosen people who will keep them entertained somehow, but Kurtz who definitely keep things interesting. I doubt you’d need to say much.

    Good call on avoiding Leo Getz if Martin Riggs was your partner.

    I have to see Midnight in Paris – asap!

    Fanny and Alexander – can’t complain with that choice – sublime.

    • Hi Dan! Yeah, Kurtz would be amazing to listen to. I was enthralled by his scenes in the movie, so to listen to more of his ravings would be awesome. Provided that annoying hopped-up photographer played by Dennis Hopper wasn’t present.

  4. Great job matey. Again like so many of these you can pick out whose list it is without revealing the blogger!!

    🙂

  5. Hey we have something in common there about Midnight in Paris, such an enchanting experience I’m sure. Surprised you went with a rather mainstream character in Lethal Weapon but yeah, I so love Gibson’s character. He’s just so darn charismatic.

  6. Oh what a great list, and what a great blogging idea.
    I agree with you and Ruth that to go and have that Midnight in Paris experience would be great (remove the real world though – he he he) and I really loved your comment about changing the end for poor Mouchette. I just watched that heart wrenching film, and blogged about it here (http://lisathatcher.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/mouchette-the-muses-never-talk-to-each-other-but-sometimes-they-dance/ ) but I thought it was tragically sad. I also reluctantly agree re the Avatar animation choice – bad pic – great place.
    I’m going to hop over and have a go. Thanks heaps for the inspiration.

    • Glad to meet someone else who loved MOUCHETTE as much as I did. It’s probably Bresson’s saddest film, and he’s made some pretty sad movies.

  7. If my adventure doesn’t work out then I’d love to join you in Midnight in Paris. I saw it again at the weekend with my mum – my dad wouldn’t go with her 😛 – and she loved it as much as I do.

    I like your reasoning behind your movie gadget… If you found out you were dreaming what would you do? Would you be scared or enjoy it?

    I haven’t seen all of Apocalypse Now but I’ve read Conrad’s Heart of Darkness so I know where you’re coming from about Kurtz.

  8. Irene Jacob is amazingly beautiful in those films. That would be quite the romance. As far as 2001 goes, just to be in that room with the Obelisk would be amazing. Love your list!

    • Hell yeah she’s sexy in those films. That choice was easy!

      Yeah, it would be really creepy and eerily fantastic to live out the final act of 2001 in real life. A perfect film.

  9. Oh man, ANOTHER great choice for a world to visit: Pandora! Man, I wish I’d thought of that. Except…. tall blue skinny folks with no genitalia don’t really do it for me…. so I’d probably skip it.

    Seriously, though, that’s an awesome pick.

  10. For what it was i thought Avatar was alright

    And i like how indie most of your choices are compared to the other blogathon entries i’ve seen. Makes it more unique imo

  11. Fun answers Tyler 😀 The world of Midnight in Paris is certainly I thought about for my own answers, it would be so charming! Not sure about that spinning top from Inception, doesn’t seem like the most practical movie gadget you could have in the real world ahah

  12. 🙂 Before reading this I was expecting you to make some very unique choices knowing the type of movies you love. As usual there are quite a lot of them I have never seen, but as always it’s interesting to see something different!

  13. Hi Tyler…we gave you an award for one of your answers in our Houdini Magic Ticket Awards! 🙂

    Post is here: http://www.top10films.co.uk/archives/9459

  1. Pingback: Blogathon: Houdini’s Magic Ticket » Top 10 Films – Film Lists, Reviews, News & Opinion

  2. Pingback: Houdini Magic Ticket Awards » Top 10 Films – Film Lists, Reviews, News & Opinion

  3. Pingback: The Lammys are here…2012 movie blogger awards » Top 10 Films – Film Lists, Reviews, News & Opinion

Leave a Reply

