Finding Your Ideal Movie

People who use IMDb (i.e probably everyone who is reading this) have likely noticed the “Recommendations” bar at the bottom of movie pages which lists five recommendations of films you might like if you liked the film featured on said page. I have found that this formula rarely works and so I’ve decided to try and simplify it. With your help.

The only thing you need to do is ridiculously simple. Name up to ten films that you really like, or love. They all need to be from a different genre or subgenre. They also need to be from different directors. So basically, ten films, all irrelevant to each other in both genre and creation (actors who star in them don’t count. You could have ten Harrison Ford movies, for example, so long as they were all from different genres and directors).

What I will do is I will use my knowledge of film, film genres and basic trivia as well as a formula I’ve created to recommend to you ten films that you are more than likely to love based on each individual film you have named. All the films you name need to be ones you like, and it’s preferred if you didn’t put obvious ones like The Godfather or Citizen Kane.

When I reply to your comment with my recommendations, I’d like you to reply back with how many of them you’ve seen. This all goes into my formula. If you’d like to know what the formula is, I’ll be revealing it once this post gets fifteen comments from people listing films they like. So share this post around, please! It’s all part of an experiment I’ve devised, and I just want to see what the results will be. So get commenting!

Posted on September 21, 2011, in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 96 Comments.

  1. Donnie Darko (2001)
    Magnolia (1999)
    The Shining (1980)
    The Evil Dead (1981)
    Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975)
    Kill Bill (2003/4)
    The Girl Who Leapt Through Time (2006)
    Little Miss Sunshine (2006)
    Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind (2004)
    Bowling for Columbine (2002)

    • Here are my recommendations, in order from first to last as you’ve listed your films.

      Gummo (1997)
      Nashville (1975)
      Rose Red (2002)
      Bad Taste (1987)
      Blazing Saddles (1974)
      La Femme Nikita (1990)
      Princess Mononoke (1997)
      Me and You and Everyone We Know (2005)
      Human Nature (2001)
      Elephant (2003)

  2. Lost in Translation
    Blade Runner
    Secrets & Lies
    Amélie
    Together
    This is England
    Hanna & her sisters
    Exit through the gift shop
    Being John Malcovitch
    Inception

    • My recommendations:

      Buffalo 66 (1998)
      Total Recall (1990)
      The Ice Storm (1997)
      Mr. Hulot’s Holiday (1953)
      Happiness (1998)
      American History X (1998)
      Manhattan (1979)
      Sunshine Cleaning (2009)
      Synecdoche New York (2009)
      Open Your Eyes (1997)

      • I’ve seen three of those: Totall Recall, Manhattan and Synecdoche New York.
        While I like the first two, I must admit that the last one didn’t click for me, which was strange since I’m normally a big Kaufman fan. It was messy and got boring because I couldn’t quite follow it. Seeing how much love it gets among movie bloggers I might give it another shot one day.

    • Roger Ebert said that it is a film that must be seen twice. One viewing is simply not enough. So yes, I’d recommend a rewatch. It is a difficult film to grasp, but I think it’s Kaufman’s best.

  3. 8 1/2
    High Fidelity
    The 25th Hour
    Almost Famous
    Taxi Driver
    Casablanca
    All The Presidents Men
    Vertigo
    Blow Out
    Hoop Dreams

    • My Recommendations:

      Day For Night (1973)
      Empire Records (1995)
      Buffalo 66 (1998)
      Dazed and Confused (1988)
      Aguirre: The Wrath of God (1972)
      Roman Holiday (1953)
      Secret Honour (1984)
      Gaslight (1944)
      Finding Forrester (2000)

  4. This is a very interesting one! Here are mine:

    1. Black Swan
    2. Mr. Nobody
    3. Pulp Fiction
    4. Donnie Darko
    5. Dumb and Dumber
    6. Alien
    7. Terminator 2
    8. Old Boy
    9. ET the Extra-Terrestrial
    10. Life is Beautiful

    • My Recommendations:

      Repulsion (1967)
      The Fountain (2006)
      Boogie Nights (1997)
      Gummo (1997)
      Road Trip (2004)
      Stalker (1979)
      Total Recall (1990)
      Audition (1999)
      The Lives of Others (2007)

      • Thank you for the recommendations, will try to check out the ones I have not seen.

        Of those I already saw The Fountain (gave it a 6/10), Boogie Nights (was ok), Road Trip (which was fun), Total Recall (which is great) and The Lives of Others (great movie)

      • Boogie Nights was just “okay”?!! [narrows eyes and snorts angrily]

        HAHA LOL just kidding, I understand some people don’t love it as much as me.

  5. great idea my friend. I will not be able to check the result here until next week.

    DRIVE
    Apocalypse Now
    Fight Club
    Trainspotting
    Die Hard
    Cinema Paradiso
    Breakfast Club
    REC
    Star Wars Ep 5
    Pans Labrynth

    This was really hard…too many to choose, I hope you do not mind the inclusion of DRIVE it is my NEW BEST FILM EVER!!

    • My Recommendations:

      After Hours (1985)
      Hearts of Darkness (1990)
      The Machinist (2004)
      Shallow Grave (1994)
      The Last Boy Scout (1991)
      Life is Beautiful (1997)
      Fast Times at Ridgmont High (1981)
      The Host (2006)
      Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan (1982)
      Mirror Mask (2005)

  6. Sounds intriguing!

    Lost in Translation (2003)
    Crank (2006)
    American Beauty (1999)
    Once (2006)
    Requiem for a Dream (2000)
    Memento (2000)
    Hero (2004)
    Grave of the Fireflies (1988)
    Blue Valentine (2010)
    Repulsion (1965)

    • The only movies I haven’t seen on your list are Crank, Hero, Grace of the Fireflies, and Blue Valentine. Considering I love the other movies, I should really get on that.

      • Cool! I leave no guarantees that you’ll like Crank or Hero as they’re very different from the rest of the films on my list. But the other two should probably be right up your alley.

    • My Recommendations:

      Somewhere (2010)
      Shoot Em Up (2008)
      Blue Velvet (1986)
      Dancer in the Dark (2000)
      Trainspotting (1996)
      Rashomon (1950)
      Come and See (1985)
      Little Children (2006)
      The Piano Teacher (2001)

      • Shoot Em Up: liked it.
        Blue Velvet: did not like.
        Dancer in the Dark: very good.
        Trainspotting: great, one of Boyle’s best.
        Rashomon: liked it. Only Kurosawa I’ve seen so far.
        Little Children: okay.
        The Piano Teacher: good movie.

        So that’s 6/10 recommendations that I’ve seen and liked, with only 1 misfire. The other 2 films are already on my watch list. 🙂

      • The two you have left to see — SOMEWHERE and COME AND SEE are two great films that come highly recommended. I’m actually a little surprised you haven’t seen SOMEWHERE. It made my Top 10 movies of 2010 list, but few others liked it (though Roger Ebert gave it a glowing 4-star review). I think it’s a brilliant film.

        COME AND SEE is a gritty, violent war movie which tracks some young children and the chaos around them during the Holocaust. Disturbing but fantastic.

  7. you’re crazy. but i do like you.

    Gamer
    Last Life In The Universe
    Bad Guy
    Chungking Express
    Blade Runner
    Breakfast Club
    Brief Encounter
    Le Samourai
    Lesbian Vampire Killers
    Secrets & Lies

    interesting how i didnt even consider a tarantino movie. whats wrong with me?

    • My Recommendations:

      Tron (1982)
      A Brighter Summer Day (1990)
      Lilya 4-Ever (2002)
      Infernal Affairs (2002)
      Total Recall (1990)
      Fast Times at Ridgmont High (1982)
      Eyes Wide Shut (1999)
      Shoot the Piano Player (1960)
      Shaun of the Dead (2004)
      Autumn Sonata (1976)

    • I do recommend those three. I think you’ll like them.

      • i think you’ve mentioned the truffaut one before and i forgot to make a note of it actually.
        the taiwanese movie, im not sure if i will ever find a dvd. i’ll give starland a call though that’s fer sure.
        but bergman i reckon i’ve got a good chance at finding despite it not being a more famous one like wild strawberries

      • A BRIGHTER SUMMER DAY, as well as having one of my favourite titles of a movie (doesn’t that just make you feel… peaceful), is also a great film from a very talented director named Edward Yang, whose masterpiece YI YI has become one of my favourite Asian films of all time. Sadly he died four years ago, aged just 49.

        The Bergman movie AUTUMN SONATA is intense. All it is is two women yelling at each other for 90 minutes. But it’s actually pretty brilliant. Really moving stuff I highly recommend.

        SHOOT THE PIANO PLAYER is a film that I think is equally as good as THE 400 BLOWS, if not more so. It delights in a series of random scenes, often connected by plot but still seeming incredibly random; take for example the sequence in which a man repeatedly sings the completely nonsensical lyrics “Affront and raspberry are the breasts of life.”

        Enjoy.

  8. Kind Hearts and Coronets (1949)
    Strangers on a Train (1951)
    Bonnie and Clyde (1967)
    Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969)
    They Shoot Horses, Don’t They? (1969)
    Stand by Me (1986)
    The Fly (1986)
    The Fog of War: Eleven Lessons from the Life of Robert S. McNamara (2003)
    Kick-Ass (2010)
    Midnight in Paris (2011)

    Am looking forward to your suggestions.

    • My Recommendations:

      The Lavender Hill Mob (1951)
      Dead On (1994)
      Out of Sight (1998)
      The Wild Bunch (1969)
      Repulsion (1966)
      The Ice Storm (1997)
      Videodrome (1983)
      Bowling for Columbine (2002)
      Snatch (2000)
      Blue Valentine (2010)

      • I have seen 5 of these. 1,3,9,10 were “decent to good”. 8 is my second favorite doc, falling behind only to the one I listed.

        Dead On seems like an odd suggestion if to only look at the IMDb score, but gonna give it a try anyway. Was hoping for some other noir movie with similar themes to Strangers on a Train.

        This formula that you are talking about. Are we able to use it?

        P.S. I also guessed 2 of your choices (1,7). Although I haven’t seen Videodrome, it’s pretty high on my watchlist, so that will be the first of your suggestions that I will tackle.

      • I saw DEAD ON a year ago and kind of liked it. I mean, it’s not a really good movie or anything, I just… didn’t hate it. And the plot is exactly the same as STRANGERS ON A TRAIN so it was one of the more logical choices. I don’t blame you if you don’t like it, though.

        The formula relies heavily on my own personal knowledge of film, so it is not applicable to everyone. IMDb helps me with the rest. I take notes on the films, do research, make detailed comparisons and then use the results to make valid recommendations. I’ll be explaining it all in a post sometime next week.

  9. Hi, Tyler and company:

    Wow! Intriguing proposition.

    Out Of The Past (1947)
    The Big Combo (1955)
    The Wild Bunch (1969)
    The Thing From Another World (1951)
    They Were Expendable (1945)
    Hell Is For Heroes (1962)
    Wait Until Dark (1967)
    Seconds (1966)
    Bringing Up Baby (1938)
    The Americanization Of Emily (1964)

    • My Recommendations (sorry if these aren’t too impressive, your list was really hard Jack):

      Force of Evil (1948)
      Double Indemnity (1944)
      The Magnificent Seven (1960)
      Alien (1979)
      The Battleship Potemkin (1925)
      Paths of Glory (1957)
      The Ladykillers (1956)
      Lost Highway (1997)
      Synecdoche New York (2009)
      Saving Private Ryan (1998)

      I apologise again for these poor recommendations, but seeing as I’ve only seen one of the films you mentioned and I’m not that familiar with 40s and 50s noir, this is the best I can do.

  10. 1.Eyes Wide Shut
    2.The Piano Teacher
    3.The Dark Knight
    4.Let The Right One In
    5.Black Swan
    6.Do the Right Thing
    7.Knocked Up
    8.Ip man
    9.The Girl who kicked the Hornets nest
    10.Strange Days

    • My Recommendations:

      Sex Lies and Videotape (1988)
      Jeanne Dielman (1975)
      Superman Returns (2006)
      Pan’s Labyrinth (2006)
      Repulsion (1966)
      Hoop Dreams (1994)
      The 40-Year Old Virgin (2005)
      Ran (1985)
      Wolf (2008)
      Repo Man (1984)

    • I don’t much like SUPERMAN either really. But Kevin Spacey was fun as Lex Luthor. No good?

      • I think Superman just doesn’t really allow for…um darker stuff like Batman does. Although i didn’t exactly hate it like a lot of people

        And i am desperately trying to track down your other recommendations, but its proving to be a difficult task because only Hoop Dreams is available for streaming on netflix and i don’t know a lot of film buffs personally. Thankfully my dad has a dvd of Ran lying around somewhere, so i should be able to check out at least 2 of your recommendations(Excluding the 4 i’ve seen already)

      • JEANNE DIELMAN and WOLF are particularly hard to find so I won’t mind if you skip those out.

        RAN’s a great movie. One of Kurosawa’s best. You’ll enjoy it, it’s visually amazing.

  11. 1. (500) Days of Summer (’07)
    2. WarGames (’83)
    3. The Virgin Suicides (’99)
    4. Rear Window (’54)
    5. Let The Right One In (’08)
    6. Chops (’07)
    7. Stateside (’04)
    8. Toy Story (’95)
    9. Bridesmaids (’11)
    10. Three Colors: Red (’94)

  12. I’m excited to see what you come up with:

    1. Die Hard
    2. Back to the Future
    3. Grease
    4. Antichrist
    5. Jurassic Park
    6. Irreversible
    7. A Nightmare on Elm Street (’84)
    8. Stand By Me
    9. [Rec]
    10. The Breakfast Club

    • My Recommendations:

      The Last Boy Scout (1991)
      Time Bandits (1981)
      Saturday Night Fever (1976)
      Dogville (2003)
      King Kong (1933)
      I Stand Alone (1995)
      Friday the 13th (1980)
      Mean Creek (2003)
      Quarantine (2008)
      Pretty in Pink (1986)

      • Oh mannn I forgot all about this – sorry! Out of that list I’ve seen 6:
        The Last Boy Scout – 4/5: Yeah, it’s right up my alley. Bruce Willis, Damon Wayans AND Danielle Harris all made me happy.
        Dogville – 3.5/5: I love Lars von Trier, and I love the way he shot this. Enjoyable, but looong.
        King Kong – 5/5 (if memory serves me correctly). It’s a classic.
        Friday the 13th – 3/5. Out of the big iconic movie monsters, Jason is one of my least favourites. It’s okay, but nothing more.
        Quarantine – 3/5: Another decidedly average film. Remakes are just generally lacklustre, and this is no exception. It’s not awful or nothing, it just can’t compete with [Rec].
        Pretty in Pink – 3.5/5: It’s John Hughes, so it can’t be too bad. It’s just nothing particularly great, although Jon Cryer was surprisingly good!

        Time Bandits has been on my radar for a while, as has Saturday Night Fever. Never heard of I Stand Alone. I have, however, been eager to see Mean Creek for aaages.

        • Glad to see I made some generally good recommendations. I definitely recommend the four you haven’t seen, particularly I STAND ALONE and MEAN CREEK.

  13. 1. 2001: A Space Odyssey
    2. Lost in Translation
    3. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
    4. The Godfather
    5. The Matrix
    6. Once
    7. Cinema Paradiso
    8. Almost Famous
    9. Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
    10. Double Life of Veronique

    • My Recommendations:

      Solaris (1972)
      Somewhere (2010)
      Human Nature (2003)
      The Departed (2006)
      Inception (2010)
      Dancer in the Dark (2000)
      Life is Beautiful (1997)
      Dazed and Confused (1993)
      Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
      Three Colours: Red (1994)

      • Solaris: Bought it, Enjoy it, but painfully slow
        Somewhere: God I wanted this movie to be good, but I dislike it, more than Marie Antoinette
        The Departed: Great Film
        Inception: Love it
        Star Wars V: One of my favorite sci-fi

        The rest have been on my too watch list other than Human Nature. That one is new and I’ll have to look into it. Thanks a bunch.

      • HUMAN NATURE is scripted by Kaufman, and quite a good film, though not his best. Would recommend seeing it if you’re a Kaufman fan, which I can assume you are.

        Sad you didn’t like SOMEWHERE, but you’re not alone. I know about twenty people who hate it, and I’m one of three people I know who like it.

  14. Christian Hallbeck

    1. Solaris
    2. City Lights
    3. Seven Samurai
    4. Repulsion
    5. Pulp Fiction
    6. Umberto D
    7. The Shining
    8. L’Avventura
    9. Late Spring
    10. Persona

    • My Recommendations:

      Stalker (1979)
      Seven Chances (1925)
      Ran (1985)
      The Piano Teacher (2001)
      Short Cuts (1993)
      Ikiru (1952)
      Rose Red (2002)
      Picnic at Hanging Rock (1976)
      An Angel at My Table (1990)
      Eraserhead (1976)

      NB: by the way Christian, your list was one of the harder ones, because I know you’ve seen so much.

      • Christian Hallbeck

        I have seen and liked Stalker, Ran, The Piano Teacher and Ikiru.

        I have seen and honestly don’t remember Short Cuts. But since it didn’t leave a memory om me, I probably didn’t like it that much.

        I have wanted to see An Angel at My Table for a long time, but haven’t come around to it.

        I’m curious about Picnic at Hanging Rock! I especially thank you for this recommendation. It sounds interesting.

        • I highly recommend PICNIC AT HANGING ROCK. It’s a creepy tale of the disappearance of some schoolgirls on a trip. It didn’t leave my mind for days. A dark movie.

  15. Christian Hallbeck

    I know that I don’t have to tell you this, but the “Solaris” I’m reffering to is of course the one by Tarkovsky, and not the american remake.

  16. i’ve been paying close attention to his post with great interest tyler. when do we get your magic formula?

    mostly i’ve been in full agreement with your recs, some of them were so obviously perfect i coudn’t believe i hadn;t thought of them before BUT i would like to know how you recommended Audition to someone who listed ET? or did i just count only 9 recommendations for nostra?

    • Yeah, I kind of messed up on the Nostra one, I just realised. Audition was a recommendation based on Oldboy, not ET. Thank you for your constructive criticism (if that is indeed what it was), and I’ll be following up this post next week, telling people what my formula is and explaining the results of this post and the information I’ve gathered from it.

  17. I must admit that it has been quite a long time ago since I last saw Boogie Nights (way before I was this interested in movies), so I might have to give it a rewatch to see if your formula is correct 😉

    So what is the 10th recommendation then?

    • Yeah, I accidentally missed out on one of your recommendations, for ET. The recommendation based on ET is:

      SHORT CIRCUIT

      Also, it is an absolute unforgivable sin that BOOGIE NIGHTS is not in the IMDb Top 250.

  18. Christian Hallbeck

    I have already ordered both “Picnic at Hanging Rock” and “Angel at My Table” (what a marvellous title by the way!).I expect them to arrive next week.

  19. Hey, Tyler–

    Apropos of nothing, here’s something I thought you’d like to see:

    http://www.gq.com/entertainment/movies-and-tv/201110/lars-von-trier-gq-interview-october-2011

  20. Whoops–The LVT interview recommendation was from me, Tyler. I forgot to log in.

  21. You know me I hate picking ‘favourites’ but I tried really hard to get good mix. My criteria was based mainly on continuous viewing rather than substance, style, etc.

    Eating Raoul (1982)
    Wishmaster (1997)
    Destry Rides Again (1939)
    Mighty Aphrodite (1995)
    The Station Agent (2003)
    Intermission (2003)
    Beauty and the Beast (1991)
    Brazil (1985)
    Ravenous (1999)
    Venus (2006)

    • My Recommendations:

      Delicatessen (1991)
      Pan’s Labyrinth (2006)
      Rio Bravo (1959)
      Deconstructing Harry (1997)
      Garden State (2003)
      Love, Actually (2003)
      King Kong (1933)
      1984 (1984)
      Alive (1993)
      Scent of a Woman (1990)

      • Well I’ve seen all of the suggestions and own four. Some I predicted you would pair up and some I’m a little confused about.

        Delicatessen I predicted. I like Delicatessen but for completely different reasons. Despite the subject material they are very different films.

        Pan’s Labyrinth: Clearly you haven’t seen Wishmaster. Pan’s Labyrinth is entertaining enough but you could argue that it is self indulgent drivel.

        Rio Bravo: While it is The Duke’s best western he is no substitute for Jimmy Stewart. Also if you have yet to see Destry Rides Again you should, especially if you like westerns as it is a parody of the genre.

        Deconstructing Harry: Yes I’m a big Woody Allen fan. A good suggestion for a film that is like Woody without being him is 2 Days in Paris.

        Garden State: Hmm. I did like Garden State and I can see the thought process between the two but like Peter Griffin’s views on The Godfather I feel Garden State “insists upon itself.”

        Love, Actually: While a review once stated that Intermission was “the bastard child of Trainspotting and Love Actually” the only similarity of the two is their multiple story construction. Intermission is to Ireland what The Castle is to Australia/NZ whereas Love Actually is a overcrowded, over sentimental mess.

        King Kong: This comparison was very confusing? I like King Kong only for the original stop motion effects.

        1984: You could also have gone with Soylent Green.

        Alive is a decent movie based on a great story, it’s one of those films you see when your a kid and it rocks your world. Ravenous is more of a vampire film than a simple cannibalism story.

        Scent of a Woman is a good Al Pacino movie (my favourite is Dog Day Afternoon) and I do like it. I am curious as how you got that from Venus though.

        As a whole all the films suggested are watchable and in that respect the system works. More picky viewers (and there are some seriously picky types) may not be as happy with some suggestions though.

        Look forward to the alchemic formula for finding movies to be revealed.

        I have to say I also like James’ list below me. He’s got good taste. For the Galaxy Quest recommendation I would say The Three Amigos.

        • Yeah, some of the suggestions might be confusing; the formula certainly isn’t perfect and I don’t know if it would be possible to create a perfect one. It’s not actually that mathematical, it does involve my experience as a film viewer as well as the general classification of film genres, so there is a certain personal taste involved in my recommendations, though I can’t say I’m a fan of LOVE, ACTUALLY or 1984 at all.

  22. 1) 13 Assassins
    2) Galaxy Quest
    3) The Bridge Over the River Kwai
    4) Hedwig and the Angry Inch
    5) The Evil Dead 2
    6) The Verdict
    7) Blade Runner
    8) Bringing Up Baby
    9) Au Revoir Les Enfants
    10) Mysterious Skin

    • My Recommendations:

      The Seven Samurai (1954)
      Spaceballs (1987)
      Dr. Zhivago (1965)
      My Own Private Idaho (1990)
      Dawn of the Dead (1978)
      The Firm (1993)
      Total Recall (1990)
      Synecdoche New York (2009)
      Europa Europa (1991)
      My Own Private Idaho (1990, again sorry, it just seems like the best recommendation for both HEDWIG and MYSTERIOUS SKIN)

  23. I’ve seen all of your suggestions:

    Samurai: A classic
    Spaceballs: Mediocre Brooks, though not as bad as “Robin Hood: Men in Tights.”
    Zhivago: A sweeping, engrossing film. I want to see it again on the big screen
    Idaho: A very good film
    Dead: Zombies in a mall. What else do you need?
    The Firm: A solid, if forgettable, thriller
    Total Recall: Doesn’t age well at all. Liked it when I first saw it, but tried watching it again recently and found the film awful
    Synecdoche: Superb
    Europa Europa: Great film.

  24. I know i’m late and all, but here are my top 10 films.

    1) Sling Blade
    2) The Shawshank Redemption
    3) Falling Down
    4) One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
    5) Misery
    6) Young Frankenstein
    7) A Nightmare on Elm Street
    8) Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back
    9) It’s a Wonderful Life
    10) The Godfather

    • My Recommendations:

      Spider (2002)
      A Man Escaped (1956)
      A Woman Under the Influence (1974)
      Girl, Interrupted (1999)
      The King of Comedy (1980)
      Blazing Saddles (1974)
      Friday the 13th (1980)
      Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan (1982)
      Wings of Desire (1987)
      The Departed (2006)

      • Spider (2002): Never watched it, but sounds amazing. It is on Cinemax tomorrow, so I’ll record it.

        A Man Escaped (1956): Sounds interesting. I’ll add it to my Netflix queue.

        A Woman Under the Influence (1974): Already have it in my Netflix queue.

        Girl, Interrupted (1999): Not quite sure about it, but you know a lot more about film than I do. So I’ll add it.

        The King of Comedy (1980): Watched it, and I loved it.

        Blazing Saddles (1974): I hated it the first time I saw it, but I have it on DVD and I’ve been thinking about re-watching it.

        Friday the 13th (1980): I have it on DVD, but I’ve never watched it.

        Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan (1982): I like Star Trek, but I’ll watch the first movie first.

        Wings of Desire (1987): Sounds like it can easily become one of my favorites. A definite add.

        The Departed (2006): Own it on DVD, but I’ve never watched it.

        Thanks for all of the suggestions!

    • You’re welcome! Glad to be of help.

  25. 1. Pulp Fiction
    2. Taxi Driver
    3. Blade Runner
    4. The Graduate
    5. A Clockwork Orange
    6. Fight Club
    7. Trainspotting
    8. Inception
    9. Magnolia
    10. Princess Mononoke

    🙂

    • My Recommendations:

      Mean Streets (1973)
      Aguirre: The Wrath of God (1972)
      Total Recall (1990)
      Murmur of the Heart (1972)
      Brazil (1985)
      The Machinist (2004)
      Blow (2001)
      Open Your Eyes (1997)
      Nashville (1975)
      Howl’s Moving Castle (2004)

  26. Great idea, Tyler, sorry I’m late to join the party.

    1. Batman Begins
    2. The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
    3. Sense & Sensibility
    4. Ben-Hur
    5. The Phantom of the Opera (2004)
    6. Roman Holiday
    7. Gladiator
    8. Return to Me
    9. X-Men: First Class
    10. The Gods Must Be Crazy

    • My Recommendations:

      Batman (1989)
      Princess Mononoke (1997)
      Barry Lyndon (1975)
      Lawrence of Arabia (1962)
      The Phantom of the Opera (1925)
      Funny Face (1957)
      Spartacus (1960)
      While You Were Sleeping (1995)
      Hellboy (2004)
      Army of Darkness (1992)

      • I have seen Batman and quite like Michael Keaton in it. I did see Spartacus and hated it with a passion, it’s a Ben-Hur wannabe that fails miserably in every front IMO, starting w/ Kirk Douglas in the lead role. I quite enjoyed Hellboy but overall it’s forgettable. And lastly, I LOVE While You Were Sleeping, I’m surprised you like that one or else you wouldn’t have recommend it. I really should see Lawrence of Arabia soon, it’s on my must-watch list already. Thanks Ty.

  27. I’m wait late to this game and am very interested in what you pick for this random list of movies I like:

    Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
    His Girl Friday
    The Man Shot Liberty Valence
    Serenity
    Days of Heaven
    Malcolm X
    Le Samourai
    Eight Men Out
    L.A. Story
    Scarface (1932)

  28. Sorry if this is too late for the experiment (see you have the formula post.)

    1.Home Room
    2.Series 7: The Contenders
    3.Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog
    4.Good Will Hunting
    5.Gypsy 83
    6.The Lucky Ones
    7.Rounders
    8.Paper Moon
    9.Maria Full of Grace
    10.Requiem

  29. Ok, I’m late to this party. And note I’m trying not to spam you at all, so please excuse some of the “marketing speak” below. (I’m the head of marketing for a small startup that provides movie recommendations.) And Tyler’s method is basically what we do. Based on your movie ratings (interestingly our minimum is 10 movies) we match you with a taste twin and then recommend movies by this twin to you. It is interesting that the recommendations are more accurate if there is little in common between the movies. We also have a twist in that we do pair you with your anti or evil twin as well. We will recommend to you what your evil twin hates or suggest you stay away from what they love. Anyway, it’s interesting from my POV how Tyler uses his experience to do the same thing. (I would love to know more about his method). If anyone is interested in knowing about my site I will post in a followup comment, but only if someone asks (again trying to avoid spam).

    • I am definitely interested to hear more about your site, as a site dedicated to movie recommendations interests me greatly. You may post the name and URL of your site in a follow-up comment and I will be sure not to delete it if it goes into my spam folder.

  30. Also late to the bandwagon here is my list:

    The Wild Bunch
    Wall Street
    Falling Down
    Speed
    Scream
    Midnight Run
    Close-up
    Man from Mallorca
    Toy Story 3
    Hoop Dreams

  31. Apocalypse Now
    Mulholland Drive
    Audition
    Ugetsu
    Battle Royale
    Sympathy for Lady Vengeance
    Nights of Cabiria
    Pan’s Labyrinth
    The 400 Blows
    Taxi Driver

  1. Pingback: Duke & The Movies :: featured :: David Cronenberg vs. David Lynch

Leave a Reply

