Liebster Blog Meme (plus a special request from your writer)

Anna over at Defiant Success has tagged me as part of the Liebster Blog Meme, so that means I have to tag five blogs with less than 300 followers to continue the chain. Though personally I’m not a fan of “chain” letters or whatever you call this, I don’t want to spoil it as it looks like fun so of course I’m going to participate. Here are my five:

John @ TDYLF

Japecake @ Japecake

Toby @ blahblahblahgay

G-LO @ It’s Just the Booze Dancing

Emil @ A Swede Talks Movies

Thanks to those guys for having awesome blogs, and hopefully you guys will all pass the meme along. Also, while I’m here, I’d like to mention the Movie of the Month over at the Large Association of Movie Blogs. This month I would desperately like the Jean-Luc Godard film Bande a Part to win. It is a fantastic movie, one of his best, and one of the best of the French New Wave, and I think it thoroughly deserves your vote, so if you could please go and vote for that one here, that would be awesome! Thanks.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Blog-Related News, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Apparently you are a more influent person than I am. Bande a part is doing real good at the poll. When I told people to vote for Long Kiss a whole bunch voted on other films… hahah

    • Yeah, it really surprised me that people are actually voting. I think the discussion BANDE A PART is likely to generate is the main reason it should win, aside from the fact it’s a great movie.

  2. ha! you’re too kind. with all the blogs on lamb (that i’ve seen) having under 300 followers making me your beloved is humbling.

    i think i’ve been voting for bande a part for the past few months. (other than when joel asked of course) but i haven’t seen it in an age and it’s still 72 on my noir list so it will be a while before i can accurately write anything about it.

    • I saw it a few months back (early May) and loved it. It was the second Godard film I saw after Contempt, and it has to be one of my favourites (though it’s nowhere near as good as Week End or Breathless). The final shootout at the end, as well as the moment of silence and the dancing session in the diner are among my favourite moments. Though I think it owes a fair bit to Francois Truffaut’s Shoot the Piano Player, which was an eerily similar but slightly better film that came four years before this one.

      • When I finally got to it I actually thought it was better than bout de souffle. I fully understood why tarantino named his production company after it.

        • Yeah it is very good. But I have a thing for the Jump Cuts in Breathless and the pacing of the film. But Bande a Part is still fucking fantastic. Did you know the diner dancing scene in Pulp Fiction was an homage to Bande a Part?

  3. to be honest i probably did but i go easy on my poor pop culture brain with interesting facts these days. too many mad men references or something. i came up with the trailer concept for by student film by basically stealing the one for bande a part though. (posted as part of the 15 question meme recently if you care/missed it)

    • I’m pretty sure I saw that trailer you made. It was very good, although the Godard references were a tad obvious (not a bad thing though).

      • oh sure, it was deliberate but then most people at uni with us didn’t bother to watch any french new wave and didn’t get the joke. so to them it was just a strange trailer for an english short film.

  4. /sulks into the corner…..

    I never get tagged in MEMES 😦

    • HAHA, sorry Scott, but this meme was for blogs with less than 300 followers, and since you’ve got 800 Twitter followers I assume at least half of those are following your blog. If I’m wrong, then sorry, but you are still one of my favourites. πŸ™‚

  5. I was expecting to be tagged…oh wells

    Although i’m pretty sure i have less than 300 folllowers

  6. Yo Tyler!

    Thanks so much for the mention! So so kind of you. πŸ™‚

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Blog Awards. Raising A Glass To Our Fellow Bloggers… « It's just the booze dancing…

Leave a Reply

