New Page! My Official Top 100 Favourite Movies of All Time!

Today’s new post is actually a new page. It’s a list I’ve been working on perfecting for a while, and now I can finally unveil it…

Are you ready? The list can be found here, or accessed from the Pages bar at the top of each site page (underneath the header).

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on August 18, 2011, in Lists, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I’m going to take my time to read through this one….got it bookmarked to read later. Must have been hard to pick the movies!

  2. Amazing, I’ll dig ino it when I get back from work… =)

  3. Amazing work!! I wouldn’t know where to start if I did one of these!!

    I will have a good rummage around later

  4. I was going to rant about how it’s a little redundant to make a favourites list but instead I’m going to congratulate you on putting what is obviously a great deal of work into something that no doubt means a lot to you. It will be interesting how much variance it will have after five years of movie viewing. I would have been curious at what the list would have looked like if you restricted yourself to to one film per director. I’ll peruse it again when I have more time and think about what percentage would make my list (even though I don’t pick favourites.)

    • I get that some people don’t pick favourites. It’s incredibly difficult and virtually impossible to perfect a Top 100, and although my list undergoes almost constant changes, this was the closest I could get it to perfect.

      The annoying thing was that a film which I consider to be the closest thing to the greatest film of all time (though it’s impossible to give any single film that title) is one that I couldn’t put on my list, because technically it’s ten different films. What am I referring to? Krzysztof Kieslowski’s DEKALOG.

      I would be interested to know which films you would consider for your list if you were forced to write one. I consider you my most critical reader (not in a bad way at all), and I always look forward to your interesting, varying and often long comments. They make my day even when they are strong, biting criticisms!

  5. to quote my favourite geriatric movie character – holy moly! that list deserves more than a wow comment and i had a quick look but it’s goinna take me quite some time. if you want a film by film agreement/disagreement then i’ll have a go.

    i think perhaps calling it “Tyler’s 100 Movies You Should Watch Before You Die” might be easier to persuade the “favourites” haters out there?

  6. Very nice! There’d be an awful lot of overlap on my own list. Do you use flickchart at all? I find that it helps me with stuff like this, although it took me a little while to figure out how to make it work exactly how I want it to work. I’ve used it to give me a nice, healthy top 25, a reasonable 26-50 (although the 26-50 isn’t perfect), and a not-so-bad 51-75. After that, it gets ugly. It was a huge help in putting together my top 50 French list.

    • Yes, I do use Flickchart, but not often. I prefer to compare movies manually; I take two and say, “Which one is better?” until I have a decent list, and then I take a few hours to tweak it. It’s not easy. But Flickchart can be helpful.

  7. Christian Hallbeck

    You have totally left out films by directors such as Kurosawa, Antonioni, Fellini, Bresson, de Sica, Ozu, Chaplin… Surely there must be one or two movies by by each of these directors that are better than Natural Born Killers and Reservoir Dogs!!!?

    You wanted “strong, biting criticism”. You got it! 🙂

    • Your criticisms are more than welcome, Christian.

      There are films I love from all the directors you mentioned, and it’s difficult to compare them to Oliver Stone or QT, those are just personal favourites from teen years. I can’t really think of a reason for why I forgot some of those directors and I’m truly sorry. I love them all, especially Bresson, and I wish I could’ve included some of those movies but this list would be much longer if I did. I’ll give some of their movies a rewatch, and I’ve still got a hell of a lot of Kurosawa and Fellini to catch up on. Thanks for reminding me, though. The list is still far from perfect.

  8. Damn…now that’s what I call a proper Top 100. Oh, and people should not be criticising your list. It’s *your* list, after all (just had to say that…people started criticising my list which is strange because it’s my taste, not the whole bloody worlds).

    Seriously, what a good list. Especially because I haven’t heard of half of them and it doesn’t have the basic movies you find on a list like mine. I need to update mine, anyway…

    Well done on completing the task!

    • Thank you, Stevee!

      Yes, I realize there’s probably a lot of non-mainstream movies on here and I apologise, but they’re all great and I recommend every single one of them, especially Breaking the Waves because I think that’s exactly your kind of movie, but I think I’ve already mentioned that one to you.

  9. Christian Hallbeck

    I was of course being deliberately provocative in my earlier comment. You know I was! Since I haven’t seen 46 of the films you mention in your list (many of them on the far side of it; and most of them american), I choose to express my general opinion on aesthetics with reference to two of the films I don’t like, rather than lie and say that it’s a great list. What I CAN say, though, is that among films 1-30, there are 15 that I like very much. Hence my opinion is that you show a good judgement in movies! You notice that I’m trying to get rid of a guilty conscience about what appears to be a bad habit of mine of telling people what to like and dislike. I assure you, I’m not like that!

    Incidentally, I belive that Breaking the Waves is Lars on Triers best film, alongside Dogville. Those two films are his masterpieces. The chapter tableaux (including the music) in Breaking the Waves are SO beautiful and moving!

    • It’s okay, Christian, you’re forgiven. I certainly didn’t expect everyone (if anyone) to agree with my list, and I’m glad that you chose to be honest rather than to lie, you’ve earned a lot of respect for that. I’m glad you liked at least some of them, and I fully agree that Breaking the Waves and Dogville are Von Trier’s two best films.

Leave a Reply

