DVD of the Week (13/8)

20110812-040040.jpg
I know I’m supposed to be on break and I am (in fact I’m writing this post on my iPhone in an internet cafe 150 miles away from home) but I just had to stop by and say that August 13 (which for me is tomorrow) is the six month anniversary of my blog!!!

But the real reason I’m here is to start a new feature on Southern Vision- in fact, I only came up with the idea while standing in a DVD store holding a DVD I had just bought. The feature is called DVD of the Week and what it is is every week I will list a movie from my DVD collection and ask you to list your thoughts on the film if you’ve seen it, and a rating out of ten. This week’s film is Stanley Kubrick’s classic period drama Barry Lyndon.

So please, leave a comment if you’ve seen the film, rating it out of ten, or leave a comment even if you haven’t seen it, any relevant feedback is more than welcome.

Thanks for reading, and remember everyone, I’m hoping to get back into a regular blogging routine within the next few days.

Posted on August 12, 2011, in DVD of the Week, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I plan to do a Kubrick post sometime soon

  2. this is one of those films i really should have seen. i cant help but hide behind my aversion of kubrick though. i cant even say what it is. the killing is one of my absolute favourite movies but ive had more bad/difficult experiences than good so i tend to skip past watching him.

    • It’s definitely worth seeing, it’s a forgotten great of Kubrick’s.

    • The only Kubrick movie i’ve seen that i didn’t like was 2001. My favorite of his at the moment of Eyes Wide SHut

      Although i had a hard time getting past the pedophillia thing in Lolita….which is why i’m not sure if i liked it or not.

      • Nice to meet someone else who loves Eyes Wide Shut, though conflictingly, 2001 is my favourite Kubrick film. The whole paedophile thing in Lolita didn’t bother me that much because Kubrick didn’t dwell on it and by the end the pedophile character had transformed into a good guy, murdering the real pedophile (Peter Sellers). I found the remake far more disturbing than the original.

  3. Great feature! I’m not that fond of Barry Lyndon. However, fans of it may look into Elvira Madigan by Swedish director Bo Widerberg. Its shot in the same visual lush style and its quite available internationally as well.

  4. Hi, Tyler and company:

    Always been a fan of ‘Barry Lyndon’. Often overlooked by Kubrick fans, it’s one of the most meticulously detailed period pieces in cinema. Love the indoor shot in candle light scenes. Kubrick manages to make many opulent moments look like paintings, A great film to watch when laid up with a cold or fill a rainy, dismal afternoon.

  5. Never saw this, but saw something about it in a documentary about Kubrick. He actually got a special lens for this movie which would be able to capture natural light without needing extra lighting on the set.

    As for posting while you are away. I just came back from a week of holiday and was writing articles every day…so 1 post on your holiday isn’t a problem 😉

  6. This must be a sign I need to get this movie. I know tomorrow a show on blogtalkradio will be breaking this movie down with I want to say some of the actors, not sure though. Other than those guys I’ve never heard any good things said about the movie pass it’s ambitious.

    • I think it’s a great film and definitely worth a rental. I suppose people with a soft spot for period dramas might like it more than others, but much of what I love about it doesn’t come from its historical feel or accuracy but rather from the unique, special and devoted attitude with which Kubrick approaches it, resulting in a film that is so distinctly his that it rises above any others in its genre. That’s special.

Leave a Reply

