The Weekly Discussion: 1910-1919 in Cinema

Welcome to this week’s Weekly Challenge. Each week I poll you on who the most influential film director of each respective decade in the 20th century is. The polls are in random order, and so far I have polled you on the 60s, 30s, 70s, 90s and 50s.

Here are the results of last week’s quiz on the 50s. The winner by a landslide was Hitchcock with 9 votes. In second was Akira Kurosawa with 4, then Billy Wilder with 2 and then Ingmar Bergman with one. The other three choices, Satyajit Ray, David Lean and Robert Bresson received no votes.

Here is this week’s poll, and this time we are looking at the 10s:

Thanks for voting. I know this poll wasn’t very big, but I’ve got to get each decade done. If there’s anything you’d like to add about the topic, please leave a comment below.

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on August 2, 2011, in Filmmakers, Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Would it be wrong to close my eyes and take pot luck? I am not good with this time period. Sorry matey

    Have a good day

    • Mate, neither am I. I only knew of Griffith’s name before researching this, but I had to get this awkward decade out of the way at some point, sorry!

  2. Unquestionably Griffith. Cecil B. DeMille, Maurice Tourneur and Victor Sjostrom are other major directors of the 1910s.

    Wiene isn’t typically listed with the ‘teens pioneers. I assume you included him for Caligari, which while indisputably enormously influential, was filmed in 1919 and released in early 1920.

    • I suppose when I think of directors like Sjostrom and DeMille, I think of their later work.

      As for Wiene… The 1920s poll is going to have quite a few directors in it so I wasn’t going to try and squeeze Wiene in based on a technicality.

Leave a Reply

