What’s Everyone Watching? 7/11/2011

Hey everyone! Since a lot of blogs have weekly updates to see what’s going on around the movieblogosphere, I thought I’d start my own feature, one of a few steps to get YOU the reader more involved in what goes on, cos it’s fun that way! So welcome to the first edition of…

What’s Everyone Watching?

Here’s five great recent posts from some awesome bloggers you need to check out:

  1. John lays out his annual Bastille Day edition of the 50 Greatest French Films of All Time over at TDYLF!
  2. Stevee at Cinematic Paradox wrote a great post about Movie Characters Who Share the Same Personality Traits as Her, an idea I might have to borrow… 😉
  3. Ted at FlixChatter reminds us of the movies we watched in the summers of our teen years… ahh…
  4. Custard’s list of top ten films based in a dream is clever, inventive and damn smart, just like the man himself at Front Room Cinema!
  5. Max’s list of beloved movies we hate over at Anomalous Material hits the nail on the head, and stirs some unwanted emotions over movies we try to forget won best picture.

Hope the links to those great sites keep you entertained… if you weren’t already subscribed to them, which you should be!

So what’s happening with you people? Any notable movies you’ve watched recently? Anything else that’s happenin’ you’d like to talk about? Here’s the place, and now!

 

 

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on July 11, 2011, in Blog-Related News, What's Everyone Watching? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. HAHA Thanks Tyler for the linkage!! Very kind of you to link to my lil’ old house!!

    Nothing quite like seeing your name getting a mention by another blogger, Awesome

    I look forward to your Personality Traits post….

  2. Awwwwww, thanks for the link! I look forward to seeing what your personality is like.

    Anyway, today I had to leave school early thanks to my throat, so I got home and watched Lost in Translation and Ferris Buellers Day Off back to back. Later in the day I watched Love Birds, now I’m most the way through Hereafter and I’ll be watching Unknown straight after this. Tomorrow I shall be watching Rango, Beastly and Hall Pass…what can I say? I’m a bit of a quantity over quality sort of girl.

    Anyways, hope you have a great week!

    • Wow, you had a great day. I’m a shameless Bueller-promoter. Of all the people who weren’t old enough to see it in the theatre, I love it the most.

  3. Yesterday saw “Horrible Bosses” in the theater and Fatih Akin’s “Soul Kitchen” courtesy of Netflix. One of them was worth watching.

  4. Thanks for the link love Tyler 🙂

  5. Thanks for the link love, Tyler. This is great that we’re supporting each other this way.

  6. Finished watching Le scaphandre et le papillon. Several scenes I loved (+ cinematography + editing + screenplay) and the 2 scenes with Max von Sydow were… powerful. I really should start watching Ingrid Bergman movies with he in it (or not). In my mind he can become one of my favorite actors with the likes of Nicholson, De Niro, Pacino, Lemmon, Hoffman.

  7. Thanks kindly for the linkage, sir. I just finished (what else?) another French film- Truffaut’s “Small Change”, not exactly his best but certainly entertaining. Up next is The Philadelphia Story.

    • Great. You must have seen almost all of Truffaut’s movies by now? And stupid old me, I’ve only seen four.

      • Ha… you’d be surprised. I still haven’t seen any of the Doinel films beyond The 400 Blows (although I’ve got Antoine and Colette at home right now). There are also a few others here and there- Two English Girls, The Soft Skin, The Bride Wore Black, etc.

    • You’re still better off than me. I’ve only seen the really popular ones: The 400 Blows, Shoot the Piano Player, Jules et Jim and The Last Metro. You should see Ashley’s Top 10 movies of all time. Two of those mentioned are on it.

  8. WTF?! 7/11/2011? I hope you’re refering to the future there and not just completely chonologically confused like the Americans.

    And don’t get me started on the Imperial System…

    • I wrote the date like that because many of my readers are American and/or commonly write the date that way. I didn’t want to do it properly and write 11/7, because I didn’t want them to get confused. However, next time I do one of these posts and reference the date, I’ll be much clearer.

Leave a Reply

