The Bi-Weekly Movie Challenge: You Have Until 25 July To Watch This

Two weeks ago I asked everyone to watch Stanley Kubrick’s widely disputed Eyes Wide Shut and tell me what you thought. One person gave it a 3, one gave it an 8, and one gave it a 9, which gives a general consensus of about 7-ish. My own personal rating is 10, and a lot of you will think that’s way too high, or that I’m outrageously overrating it, but hey, opinions are opinions.

This week, the film I’m giving you guys to watch is another movie that I seem to be the only person on the planet who gave it a 10:

Here’s the rules:

If you haven’t seen it, I ask you please to rent it from Netflix or whatever DVD movie rental agency you use and come back to this page, leave a comment with a brief review and RATE IT OUT OF TEN. If you’re up to the task, then you have until 25 July to do this.

If you have seen it, the hard part’s over! All you have to do is leave a comment with a brief review, RATING IT OUT OF TEN.

Thanks everyone so much for participating. There’s sure to be some mixed reaction here, but let’s make sure there is at least some reaction. Thanks again, and happy watching!

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on July 11, 2011, in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Don’t worry, you’re not alone in giving the film a 10/10, I am joining you!

    What can I say about INLAND EMPIRE?

    Well, first off, it is one of, if not, the most terrifying film I have ever bared witness too. I am pretty alert when it comes to getting spooked when watching films, but INLAND just tore me to shreds really.

    It’s extremely hard to find a film that becomes something more than ‘Just a film’ and I think that INLAND EMPIRE does just that. That’s why it is so brilliant.

    I can’t decide whether it is a toss-up of the best three hours I have ever spent, or the worse due to the sheer horror of what was going on that I had to endure.

    Either way, it’s a wonderful film, and I am relieved to find someone who loves INLAND as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

