The Weekly Movie Challenge: You Have Until 9 July to Watch This

Welcome to The Weekly Movie Challenge. Last week, I asked you to watch Lars von Trier’s controversial and widely disputed Dogville, and rate it out of ten. I got four responses, and three ratings, much more positive than I expected. Two people gave it 9/10, and the other gave it a perfect 10! I myself give it a 9, and I thank everyone who watched and rated. If you didn’t rate, then here’s your chance. This week’s movie is:

Ah. The controversy continues. Once again I’ve picked a film that a lot of people like, and a lot of others loathe. So what’s your opinion? If you’ve seen it, be completely honest with what you thought of it and leave a comment down below. If you haven’t seen it, give it a go. If you can find the time, Netflix it or whatever. You might hate it, you might enjoy it. Either way, I ask you to see it and RATE IT OUT OF TEN. This time, I’m giving you two weeks to watch the movie, so don’t feel pressured.

Thanks for reading, watching and rating.

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on June 25, 2011, in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. This should be a fun one. I’ve never actually seen it. I’ve avoided it for several reasons, almost all revolving around wanting to give it a fair chance. And now, I think I’m ready.

    I’ll do what I can to squeeze it in. Worst case scenario, it won’t be by 7/2 (but I swear, I’ll do everything I can)… but it’ll be within a few weeks.

  2. I give it a three and that is being generous…Except for occasional good support from Nicole Kidman and passable cinematography and art direction, this movie made me feel dirty and I was revolted by Tom Cruise’s ridiculously unbelievable performance…I’m sorry Stanley Kubrick had to die with this as the last movie on his resume…

  3. Believe me…I was a big Kubrick fan and I have seen Cruise give really good performances (Magnolia for one)…But I cringed watching this dreck !

  4. Considering who was Oscar-nominated in that category in 2000 Kidman never had a chance

  5. Weakest of Kubrick’s post-Killer’s Kiss, but still enjoyable. The first time I saw it I was about 13 or 14, and what teenage boy doesn’t like nudity 🙂 I absolutely loved Shostakovich’s classical piece.

    I give it a 8/10. (It’s a weak eight.)

  6. I just watched it and loved the hell out of it. I’m still sort of digesting things, but my first inclination is 9/10. The ritual scene was amazing, as was the Godard-esque use of colors, and the Godard-esque uncomfortably long argument at the end of the first act. The mask images are going to be burned into my skull for a long time and the score was awesome throughout.

    The only two knocks I have: Tom Cruise sucks, and the explanation of the ritual at the end by Sidney Pollack’s character seemed to take some teeth out of the film.

  1. Pingback: Diary of a Movie Weekend |

Leave a Reply

