Five Movies That Put Me to Sleep!

It doesn’t happen often, falling asleep while watching a movie. And I’d like to clarify that not all of these movies put me to sleep because they were boring. Some of them (with particular emphasis on #1) were played during a time when I was very tired and I just used it to finally nod off. But nevertheless, these movies will make you snooze.

1: Blue (1993)

Rest assured, this is not Kieslowski’s fantastic first instalment of his trilogy, rather the final film of the dying Derek Jarman, who was gradually losing his sight and could only see blue. The film is exactly that, an entirely blue screen for about 80 minutes, with sounds and voices in the background. It is a very good movie, decidedly reminiscent of early avant-garde such as Wavelength, and a perfect epilogue for his career, and life.

2: Meet Joe Black (1998)

Perhaps a harbinger of the downfall of Martin Brest’s career, the astoundingly boring “romance” starring Brad Pitt and Anthony Hopkins is enough to put even the most dedicated viewer to sleep at at least some point. And it just keeps going, and going, and going… If you want to see good movies about the afterlife, try Beetlejuice or Enter the Void… anything but this crap.

3: The Good Shepherd (2006)

One of the hugest disappointments in my cinemagoing experience was Robert DeNiro’s CIA movie. It had everything it should: a great cast, a director with high expectations and it was a deep-inside-an-American-organization type thing. What went wrong? Something, evidently, as I was deep into a sleep in which I fantasised about a world where Robert DeNiro retired just after Ronin… seriously, though, did we really need anything from him that came after that?

4: Avatar (2009)

I’m not lying or exaggerating or anything… I actually fell asleep during this. Granted, not for a long time, it was more of a nod off, than a fall asleep, but once you get tired of the scenery (which happens surprisingly quick) there’s really nothing much left to look at.

5: 2001: A Space Odyssey (1967)

Now don’t get me wrong here. This is my second favourite film of all time, and visually, it’s my number one favourite, and the first time I saw it, I was mesmerised. The second time, not so much. I was watching it at 1am in the morning, so that could explain it, but once all the beautiful music dies down and we settle into the drama, there’s really not much to stop you from closing those eyes. It only happened once, but sadly, once counts.

That’s my list, now tell me, reader… what movie/s put you to sleep? Leave a comment. Thanks for reading.

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on June 23, 2011, in Lists, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really like “The Good Shepherd”. Though, I completely understand how you could fall asleep to that film.

Leave a Reply

