The Weekly Movie Challenge: You Have Until 24 June to Watch This

Last week, I started a new feature called The Weekly Movie Challenge, in which I asked you to watch a movie and leave a comment with what you thought of it at the bottom of the page. Your goal was to watch it within a week, if you could, and if you’d already seen it, to leave a comment with a small review of it. There was only one response, but I’m not giving up on this idea. Last week I asked you to watch/review The Manchurian Candidate which is not a very widely seen movie, so this time I’ll name a more “known” movie, but one that not everyone will have seen. This week’s movie challenge is:

If you’ve already seen it, this is what I want you to do: Leave a comment below with a small review of what you thought of it, and can I ask you to please RATE it out of ten. Not five, not three, not anything else, just ten please. If I get enough comments, I’ll try to figure out an average rating for the film. But if there aren’t enough comments and ratings, I won’t be able to do that. So if you’ve seen Dogville, leave a comment now before you forget.

If you haven’t seen it, your challenge is to watch it before 24 June and leave a comment with what you thought of it, and a rating out of ten. Don’t feel any pressure… I realize that a lot of people are very busy and can’t do this, but if you could at least try, I’d be very happy. I personally think it’s a great movie, and even though there are some people out there that won’t like it, they’ll at least learn something from its clever imagery and inventive ideas. Tarantino fans will love the ending *wink wink*

So there’s your challenge. Hope you enjoy the film, and thanks for participating, or at least, for reading this small post.

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on June 16, 2011, in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Have seen it twice. First time it absolutely blew my mind. The stage, the characters, the plot, the ending… Absolutely brilliant. The second time when I already knew everything that was going to happen, I didn’t enjoy it that much. Overall I would give it 9.5/10 (if that’s not acceptable then 9).

  2. Well, I congratulate you on motivating me into finally watching this film.

    Overall it was a good film. Nothing really wrong with it, nothing outstanding about it. Lars Trier (the ‘von’ is b.s.) is pretty much the Tony Scott of the independent film scene. A filmography of 3 star films (out of 5.)

    It looks good. The actings good. The story is good. Good, good, good, good, good.

    Contributing factors to why I may not have the enthusiasm for it as much as you may think I should:

    I had of course seen Mandalay first. So therefor,

    1. The entire ‘stage play’ concept was not novel to me.
    2. I pretty much deduced how the film was going to end.
    3. The theme of this film was of less interesting to me compared to that of Mandalay.

    Film highlights.

    1. John Hurt’s narration.
    2. Kidman’s vengeful lesson in stoicism.

  3. riversidecitizen

    Unless I am on Netflix, I am very reticent to give a full rating to a movie. However, I give Dogville a 10. This is for several reasons (not in order of importance).
    1. It made me realize how much I miss plays. This has rekindled my desire to see work on the stage. The starkness of the set is in stark contrast to the raw characters.

    2. It spoke to me. I love theorizing and thinking about god and religion. Tom said something to the extent that you don’t have to read the bible to be spiritual. I have always held that one needs not go to church to believe in god.

    3. It breaks convention. I was riveted to Antichrist, even after the death of the child. I thought I was going to turn it off in disgust, but as with the shooting of the children and the baby in Dogville, I was intrigued and knew I had to watch.It does not spare the viewer from actually seeing harm come to children in movies. In action movies, there is always the kid who had been threatened, or even killed “off camera,” or prior to the movie, because it is horrific to witness much less to hear about harm to come to defenseless children; the characters are incensed, but the viewers have just that: seeing someone upset. By seeing violence acted upon a child in a movie, the viewer becomes shocked, incensed, and, at the very least witness the consequences for such a heinous act.

    I could go on, but I think I will just write my own blog about it. Thank you for recommending this movie. It has been sitting in my Netflix queue for awhile now.

    Awesome.

    hawkdad73

  4. I give this film a 9. The acting is stellar and of the plays that I have seen filmed, this one by far works best. Brilliant ensemble piece. I enjoyed the point that all of us have good and evil within, but Kidman’s revelation at the end, misses the spiritual mark, outside of a Greek tragedy. The ultimate cannot be personified.

Leave a Reply

