Letters to Directors from Children

First off, full credit for the idea behind this post goes to John at The Droid You’re Looking For. He writes some of the most creative, original stuff I’ve ever read from a movie blog. His posts always make me think, “Oh, wow, how come I never thought of that!” and Letters to Directors from Children is one of the best ones. Before you read mine, I highly recommend you read his.

Anyway, here’s my take on the idea, hope you guys enjoy:

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on June 16, 2011, in Filmmakers, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Very clever !

  2. “That old guy looks like my grandpa without the cynicism, self-hatred, and bitterness…” That’s hilarious.

    • I find it interesting that Ingmar Bergman’s characters seem so much more real than any other director. A few weeks ago, I looked at my father from a distance and I could swear he was Gunnar Bjornstrand. Weird.

  3. Maybe Im crazy…But I just watched Fanny & Alexander for the 1st time a few months ago and didn’t understand a) the attraction to the movie or b) the attraction to Ingmar Bergman…What am I not getting here ??

    • It’s not the best place to start with Bergman. I love the film so much because of the stunning cinematography and direction which is probably more beautiful in F&A than any other movie. I find the story interesting, too, but I suppose it’s not for everyone.

      A better place to start with Bergman would be something less ‘heavy’ but still thought-provoking like The Seventh Seal or Wild Strawberries.

Leave a Reply

