5 Directors Who’ve Never Made A Bad Movie

For those people looking for some great directors who they can rely on, here is my list of a personal favourite five directors, who in my opinion, have never made a “bad” (rated less than 5 out of 10) movie, and can definitely be relied on.

1. Krzyzstof Kieslowski

The films you are likely to find of Kieslowski aren’t very many. Dekalog, The Double Life of Veronique and the Three Colours trilogy are the ones you’ll probably come across if you go looking. And they are all brilliant. I just saw Dekalog the other day, and was absolutely stunned by it. It was nine unforgettable hours of my life. And the other two are equally amazing. Sadly, Kieslowski died soon after finishing the final trilogy.

If You’re Interested, Check Out:
Dekalog (1988)

2: Michael Haneke

Michael Haneke is a man who knows cinema. His portrayal of sex and violence in cinema is uniquely memorable, and his film plotlines are subtle but slowly haunting. His films stay with you for a long time, and you’re not likely to forget them. Read my full article on his amazing career here.

If You’re Interested, Check Out:

Caché (2005)

3: David Fincher

From the dark horrors of Se7en to the poignant analysis of life in The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Fincher has created an emotional range of memorable and affecting movies, like only he can. His movies are gripping, original, and often feature fantastic twists.

If You’re Interested, Check Out:

Fight Club (1999)

 

 

4: Christopher Nolan

We might not always be able to rely on his movies being “good,” per se, but it’s a sure thing that they’ll be original, and entertaining. He recently proved with Inception the dedication he had to cinema, churning out a fascinatingly diverse, thought-provoking (literally! Think about it!) storyline, and we’ve known since Following and Memento that he was someone special.

If You’re Interested, Check Out:

Memento (2000)

 

 

 

 

5: Edgar Wright

I’m going out on a limb here because Wright has technically only directed 3 movies, but I believe he has real potential, and I don’t think he’s going to make a bad movie any time soon. He seems to make very smart career decisions, and his unique brand of fast-paced humour is very effective and memorable. Put on an Edgar Wright movie. You will enjoy yourself… that I can guarantee.

If You’re Interested, Check Out:

Shaun of the Dead (2004)

 

What other directors do you know of that, in your opinion, have never made a bad movie? Do you agree with my choices? Who are your favourite directors? Leave a comment below and let me know.

Thanks for reading.

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Filmmakers, Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Kurosawa, Spielberg, Lucas, Hawks and Wellman

  2. – Billy Wilder.
    – Quentin Tarantino.
    – David Lean.
    – Stanley Kubrick.
    – Fabian Bielinsky.(He only made 2 films)

  3. Well this could certainly cause heated arguments. I love David Fincher but I don’t love Alien 3, or Panic Room for that matter. Edgar Wright has only made 3 movies so he’s no more perfect than Todd Field (or Aronofsky whom bombed on his 3rd feature.) As for 1 and 2 I’ve only seen a few films by each which were good in their own respects but I would be very impressed if you had seen all of their films including Haneke’s TV movies.

    • I haven’t seen Haneke’s TV movies, but I’m only considering films that people would consider to watch. Think about it… If you were trialling a new director and you had a choice between watching their TV movies or their proper movies, which would you choose?

      • Ouch! ‘Proper’ movies? There have been some great TV movies made although the majority are less than enjoyable. Why should a limited budget make a film any less enjoyable? A truly great director can work with a limited budget and shouldn’t let resources get in the way of telling a good story. When you examine a director’s filmography more often or not their earliest films are more loved then their later work. Big budgets make room for bigger egos and far more indulgent film making. I would most certainly try viewing a director’s earlier work regardless if it were cinema release, made for TV or direct to DVD.

        “I’m only considering films that people would consider to watch.” By that very definition you could put anyone on this list and just ignore any bad films they have made.

    • Good point. I certainly feel like an idiot now. But you’re right, you are. I’ve just had too many bad experiences with TV movies that I suppose I’ve developed a prejudice against them. I apologise. I’ll try to check out some more, as many as I can, and I’ll be careful how I write things. Thanks for your comment. I prefer it when people criticise me rather than giving me the same old recycled compliments (though compliments are certainly welcome.)

      • Well you do have a right to have a TV movie prejudice, especially if you’ve mostly seen the American drek that gets made. The best TV movies are British. Most British film makers start out in TV or with TV movies – most recent Oscar winning director Tom Hooper for example – with smaller production companies and funding available compared with the US. Of course it produces far more character involved and dialogue rich material than even the biggest, most extravagant American films. *cough* Michael Bay *cough, cough*

        I wasn’t so much criticising as suggesting that if I was as involved in Haneke as you seem to be currently I would have been hunting down all he has to offer. It would certainly interesting to see how much his film making has evolved over the years. And even if his early work was insufferable then at least you’d know that and respect the work you love even more.

        I own The Dogs of War and The Stepford Wives (the terrible Frank Oz version) on DVD because I went through a hardcore Christopher Walken phase. I still love Walken, I own some absolute tripe because of him but I still watch that drivel every now and again. There is joy to be found in the trashiest of cinema.

  4. Too right Chris Nolan has never made a bad film. Even though I’m neither here nor there with Insomnia. That’s because he didn’t write it.

    • I love Nolan to death but I may be the only person I know who didn’t think The Dark Knight was anything TOO special, and a tad overrated (I still liked it, though.)

  5. I would unhesitatingling add David Lean. An absolute perfectionist with an incredible eye for detail, use of natural scenery, and colour. After all the AFI doesn’t have Lawrence of Arabia as its fifth greatest film ever made for nothing!!

Leave a Reply

