The Single Greatest Scene in Film History. Ever.

As hyperbolic as the title of this post may seem, in my opinion the film scene I’m about to present to you lives up to that statement completely. I was going to do a list of the Top Ten Greatest Scenes in Film History, but when I sat down to do a list I realized there were SO many that it was impossible to cut it down to ten. I’ll keep trying, but for now here is The Single Greatest Scene in Film History. Ever. The movie is There Will Be Blood, and this is the haunting final fifteen minutes. If you haven’t seen the film, please watch the whole movie now. Please. You will not regret it, and hopefully you will agree and understand the importance and brilliance of this scene. For those who have seen the film, here’s another chance to recapture the raw emotion and brilliance delivered by Daniel Day-Lewis, who does more in his performance than any other actor could ever hope to achieve. Draaaaaaiiiiiiinaaage, Eli, you boy!

So, what I want to know is… what’s your opinion? Leave a comment on what you thought of my choice and tell me what you consider to be the greatest scene/s in movie history.

Thanks for reading.

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on May 16, 2011, in Filmmakers, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. What a great film. And you’re spot on – a fantastic scene and one of the best endings I’ve ever seen. It’s so powerful and the perfect conclusion to Plainview’s story – and what a great performance (from both actors).

  2. I thought it was a tough movie to watch, with the cruelty that Daniel Day-Lewis’s character brought on others. But he gave such a powerful performance, I was still riveted. He kicked major ass in Gangs of New York, too.

  3. For whatever reason, I have yet to see this film. You are so right about Daniel Day Lewis! He is always a joy to watch, and talk about range! My Left Foot, In The Name of the Father, The Age of Innocence, and sooo much more. Great stuff all around!

    I’ll have to check this one out at some point.

  1. Pingback: Twenty Five Great Quotes from the Films of Paul Thomas Anderson « Southern Vision: A Blog About Movies

  2. Pingback: 20 Great Scenes from 20 Great Movies « Southern Vision: A Blog About Movies

Leave a Reply

