The Weekend Lineup: My Movie Schedule for this Weekend

Where I am here in New Zealand, it’s Friday morning as I’m writing this, and I’m getting ready for a long day of work… followed by MOVIES! Here’s what I have planned to watch:

The White Ribbon (2009)

The last great Michael Haneke movie I haven’t seen. I’m a huge fan of Haneke, ever since I saw Caché, and just looking at the awesome poster is giving me the chills.

Let Me In (2010)

I missed the cinema showing of this because I was busy trying to find a copy of Let the Right One In, which I’ve since declared a masterpiece of foreign horror movies. I can’t wait to see Matt Reeves’ take on it, which I’ve heard is very good.

Miller’s Crossing (1990)

One of a handful of Coen brothers movies I’ve yet to see, this noir-style crime thriller looks very interesting, and the presence of Gabriel Byrne and John Turturro alone promises a wild ride.

Rewatch: The Conversation (1974)

I thought it would be wise to watch this Coppola gem a second time, given its intricate secrets and subtle clues.

Dogville (2003)

I’ve recently become a Lars von Trier addict and hopefully I can squeeze this one into my weekend. It looks quite good, but with von Trier you can’t be too careful. Hopefully it will be more cheery and lighthearted than Dancer in the Dark.

Those’re my plans. What do you think? Have you seen any of these movies? Are they good? Let me know by leaving a comment.

Thanks for reading.

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Movies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. After I saw “Dogville”, I think what I said was “I wish Netflix would let me give this 6 stars out of 5”. But honestly, it’s been several years. I’d be curious how I’d react to it now.

  2. The Conversation is fantastic! Love the paranoia. Gene Hackman at his best.

  1. Pingback: Ribbon First Blog

Leave a Reply

