10 Movies (and 2 Trilogies) I’m Ashamed to Say I Haven’t Seen Yet!

Like the image above, these movies are glaring me in the face. For whatever reason, I’ve not got around to seeing them yet, and I feel kinda bad about it. A blog is an excuse to bare your soul, so here are ten movies plus a couple of famous trilogies which I want to see, but haven’t yet and am unsure when in the future I’ll be able to tick them off. So here they are, starting with the two seen in the above image:

1: Gone With the Wind (1939)

Yeah, I know, it’s the first colour feature and an epic masterpiece, not to mention an awesome love story– I’ve heard all about it, and want to see it. I come across so many people quoting it and I tried in futility to tackle the book though only made it through about a quarter of its daunting length. But… I like long movies, so why don’t I like the long books? I don’t know, maybe it’s just because I’m not as attracted to books in general (though I am a reader). Anyhoo, I hope to see this mammoth achievement some time soon in the future and know I will enjoy it.

2: On the Waterfront (1954)

I love Marlon Brando, ever since my Dad let me watch the “coffin” scene in Last Tango in Paris and quickly ushered me out of the room suspiciously for the rest of the film. We all know he has skill, and some have named him as one of the greatest actors of all time. This and more are compelling reasons to watch this great movie which has piqued my interest ever since that fateful day when I realized what an actor could really do.

3: Blade Runner (1982)

Well… this one isn’t entirely true. My brother is, and always has been, a huge Blade Runner fan, and I watched this film about… seven years ago, though I have little to no memory of it at all. In my opinion, watching it again would be the same as watching it for the first  time. All I remember is that Harrison Ford is in it, and that it’s a futuristic thriller. That is literally all, except for plot summaries I’ve come across.

4: The Breakfast Club (1985)

I am one film short of proclaiming myself as an 80s high-school movie wizard, with an almost infinite knowledge and shameless love of films such as Porky’s, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Back to School, Weird Science, Fast Times at Ridgemont High and so many others. But this John Hughes classic has been proclaimed as one of the best, or the one that really started it all. As you may have guessed, this is near the top of the list.

5: Blazing Saddles (1974)

Since finding out the script was partially written by Richard Pryor (a.k.a. the greatest stand-up comedian of all time), and stars Pryor’s film counterpart and friend Gene Wilder, this great comedy has been a must-see for me.

6: Dances with Wolves (1990)

Whether or not it is as great as I’ve heard, this Kevin Costner epic which my mother recently proudly proclaimed her favourite film of all time sounds awesome and really piques my interest, especially considering my recent proclamation of love for David Lean-like epics (or, if they’re directed by Lean that’s even better).

7: Platoon (1986)

A war movie I’ve always yearned to see, this may be the last great Vietnam movie that I haven’t yet seen. I don’t see how it’s going to beat Apocalypse Now or Full Metal Jacket, but I’ll certainly give it a chance, and I will be happy to conclude a yearlong love affair with war movies that graciously began with Good Morning, Vietnam.

8: The Seven Samurai (1954)

Or any Kurosawa film, for that matter. I have actually seen one of AK’s famed masterpieces (Ran), but one is certainly not enough. This is such a famed movie, built up to be something rather special, which I’m sure it is, and you can include within this one film selection Kurosawa’s entire catalogue, which I eagerly await to truly begin.

9: Gladiator (2000)

Though I do have an immense respect for Russell Crowe (an admiration which began after my first viewing of L.A. Confidential), I’ve never plucked up the courage to get this great movie in my DVD player. Someday I know I will, but I’m extremely cautious with these sorts of films, as they have let me down in the past (don’t worry, Braveheart, I’m not talking about you! :-))

10: Singin’ In The Rain (1952)

I’m reminded that I haven’t seen this classic comedy/musical every time I watch A Clockwork Orange, and it’s a fact I’m going to have to come to terms with sooner or later, but I’m sure, eventually, like most others, it will find its way to me.

Now for the trilogies (Warning: Prepare to be SHOCKED! And feel free to wear your “You haven’t seen that?!” face.

Trilogy 1: Star Wars (A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back, Return of the Jedi)

I haven’t seen any films of all the six Star Wars movies, but like others I know, I only consider the three films mentioned above as proper SW pictures, and they’re the only SW movies I’m going to try and see.

Trilogy 2: The Lord of the Rings

A famous, multi-million dollar trilogy that has earned countless Oscars and hundreds of positive reviews, this trilogy idolized out of all proportion by millions of movie watchers worldwide has yet to make it into my hands and onto my TV. I know, I know… But rest assured, I am going to see this.

There you have it. A list I’m ashamed to print, but if I’m going to have an honest and true blog, I must post it. Please do comment with what you think and remember… no matter how shocked you might be that I haven’t seen some of these films, remember that I do plan to and very soon.

Thanks for reading.

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Lists, Movies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You must be the only person remaining on Earth who hasn’t seen the Lord of the Rings trilogy… I’m jealous! 🙂

    Of your list, I haven’t seen On the Waterfront and Singin’ in the Rain. Seems like I’m getting better ah

    • When people bring up the fact that I haven’t seen Lord of the Rings, I tell them to think of it this way: it’s not a long list of movies I have yet to see, it’s a long list of movies I have to look forward to watching.

  2. Oh Castor, count me as one of the people who haven’t see any of the Rings Trilogy, except for the ‘You shall not pass!’ scene.

    I’ve only seen The Breakfast Club, Dances with Wolves, Platoon in parts and I haven’t seen any of Blazing Saddles. One day, but there’s so many…

  3. Wasn’t LOTR filmed in your backyard?

    RE: Blazing Saddles, it’s a great one, and I think you could watch most Mel Brooks films (pre 1990, and preferably pre 1980) and enjoy them. I love them all.

    I tackled Gone with the Wind last summer, and… I like to refer to that movie as “The best movie I’ll ever hate”. I really wasn’t a fan. But I’m also glad I saw it.

    I could be wrong but I’d bet you’d go nuts for Kurosawa. And you could start anywhere. Seven Samurai is his most well-known but Rashomon is very influential, Ikiru is a personal favorite of mine, and I have yet to see a Kurosawa movie I didn’t like. Yojimbo/Sanjuro (one’s a sequel to the other) is a lot of fun, a lot like a spaghetti western with samurai.

    • Yes, yes. LOTR was filmed in New Zealand and ordinarily I would see it but I just don’t have a thing for 9 hour fantasy epics (unless they’re directed by someone who doesn’t speak English).

Leave a Reply

