Ten Great Indie Comedies You Must See

Independent cinema is a thriving new cinematic genre, and has produced some outstandingly funny and very clever films. Not all indie movies are comedies, certainly not, but a hefty percentage are. Here are ten great independent comedies–not necessarily the ten best, but just ten great ones, in no particular order.

Clerks (1994)

“This job would be great if it weren’t for the fucking customers.” It’s impossible for anyone aged 15-45 to not absolutely love this Kevin Smith comedy. As well as bringing down the house with its decidedly unsubtle humour and observations about workplace scenarios and real life drama, it also manages to be an inspiration for budding filmmakers, shot for less than 30 grand with B&W cameras and a tiny cast of unknowns. Well… why not?

Sideways (2004)

Thomas Haden Church, decidedly reminiscent of an entire subculture of American men (no offense intended) and Paul Giamatti, an also dryly stereotypical but impossibly original variation of the schmuck-with-a-book tactic (again, not trying to offend!), make a perfect odd-couple in this honest comedy about a pre-marital weekend-long bachelor party consisting of various wine tastings, gratuitous nudity, and not to mention the sacred bonds of the un-buddy-breakable male friendships that decorate so many films of this cult flavour kind. Read my review here.

Little Miss Sunshine (2006)

In much the same vein as Sideways, this far funnier and hugely honest movie about the imperfections of family is almost perfect in a way. The comedy is fresh, original and extremely well-acted by a great cast including Greg Kinnear, Toni Collette, Steve Carrell, Paul “I am a false prophet, God is a superstition” Dano, Abigail Breslin, and a far from Glengarry Glen Ross Alan Arkin. You really can’t go wrong.

Garden State (2004)

I only saw this very recently, and it was the film that really got me thinking about doing this list. Zach Braff is surprisingly fresh and different from Scrubs, and Natalie Portman is wonderful in her supporting performance, perfectly placed halfway between Mathilda and Nina Sayers. While the ending is decidedly tacky and annoyingly brief, the rest of the film is smart and well-played, at a pace which makes the awkward humour funnier by miles that what it might normally be.

The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)

It was either this or Rushmore from Wes Anderson, and… well, sorry, Rushmore, it’s just plain impossible for you to beat The Royal Tenenbaums. Anderson weaves an honest, magical tale and gives all of his actors something decent to do, as well as paying a glorious homage to great comedic stereotypes. I have a rather foggy memory of this, and I need to rewatch it, but I remember enough to say this is a classic indie comedy, more than worthy of a place on this list.

Eagle vs. Shark (2006)

No, I’m not just picking this movie because it’s a product of the rapidly growing film industry of my home country, New Zealand. It is actually a very witty, quite funny comedy about quirky relationships. It stars Jemaine Clement, whom “you Americans” might recognize from Flight of the Conchords, possibly the most successful byproduct of the Kiwi entertainment industry. It’s certainly not the best film on this list, but a kitsch excersize in low-budget fun nonetheless. Enjoy!

High Fidelity (2000)

John Cusack stars as a record-store owner with a deep passion for music that perhaps exceeds my love for movies. Nick Hornby’s novels are often a delight, and this adaptation is superb, with a cast including a memorable Jack Black. Suspiciously Clerks-like, this tale of friends and relationships is funny and true to the heart, something Hornby has a true gift for.

(500) Days of Summer (2008)

Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel are two talented actors who manage to carry this otherwise normal romantic comedy to new heights and rise it from a possible daunting rubble. The humour is timed well, and the characters are likeable, setting this rom-com apart from the rest of the clutter and crowd.

Juno (2007)

Decide for yourself whether you love or hate this witty and cleverly scripted indie comedy starring the always entertaining and offbeat Ellen Page and scripted by ex-stripper Diablo Cody, which has caused quite a rift in indie movie tastes between me and friends – I seem to be the only one who likes it. And I stand by that statement.

Buffalo ’66 (1998)

Definitely beyond a shadow of a doubt my absolute favourite indie comedy of all time, Vincent Gallo’s Buffalo ’66 is a film that is rarely mentioned when talking about such a genre. It is a true classic, with ingenious and subtle humour scripted excellently by Gallo, and direction from the man himself that shows true talent, as well as contributions to the music department and of course, the brilliant starring performance that ties the whole film together. Gallo is a very talented actor, and this film is, as he himself has said, his masterpiece, and a masterpiece of independent cinema.

Now it’s time for your opinion! Leave a comment with what you thought of my choices and list some of your own.

Thanks for reading.

About Tyler

Patient observer of all things film and music, from Béla Tarr to Boards of Canada. Foul mouthed and clinging to the edge of sanity.

Posted on May 16, 2011, in Lists, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 175 Comments.

  1. Some wonderful choices here. Sideways is one of the best films I’ve seen in the last ten years – can’t wait for Alexander Payne’s next film to arrive.

    High Fidelity, Clerks, 500 Days of Summer, Juno and Little Miss Sunshine are all superb.

  2. Im going to have to look up to watch Eagle vs Shark now seeming as yes, I do enjoy Flight of the Concords.

    • Eagle vs Shark is awesome. It contains the best lead up to a showdown ever. You might also want to check out Diagnosis Death if you’re a fan of the Flight. Bret, Jemaine and Murray (Rhys Darby) all make appearances in it.

      • Awesome! Although Jermaine is also very, very epic (especially with his talented eyebrow raise), Bret is my favorite of the two so that will be a treat!thanks!

  3. With the exception of High Fidelity, I liked your choices. (Great soundtrack and I know people really love it, it just wasn’t for me.) Some of these are also pretty well known. That’s a sign of the success of independent films, which is good. Perhaps a future post could be on the best ones you’ve never heard of. Just a suggestion.:) I loved Sideways and Jemaine cracks me up. I thought that had some hilarious moments.

  4. Chelsea Mac

    I felt (500) Days of Summer tried too hard to be “indie”/quirky. I think those characteristics should be felt by the viewer and not have to be continually pushed by the actors (i.e. blatantly referencing The Smiths and Belle & Sebastian, dates at IKEA, etc.).

    Such a shame because I adore ZD & JGL. Here are some of my suggestions:

    – The Go-Getter
    – The Chumscrubber
    – Away We Go

    Clerks was a great #1. It will always be a top ten for me.

  5. Jeanne Heuer

    This was great. I’ve seen seven of these and that means I’ve got three films to add to my Netflix queue! Yeah!

  6. Wow, I think you tapped into my brain for this post. LOVE all these!

  7. clerks is my favourite :) nice post

  8. Going to go and get some of these movies; love having new movies to watch!

  9. David Lockeretz

    Nice list – good call on “Buffalo 66.” That’s certainly an obscure one, a very dark “comedy” although definitely hypnotic and absorbing. I first happened to catch it on TV at 6 in the morning one day and watched the whole thing. Another good dark comedy, although I don’t know if it’s indie, is “Salton Sea.”

  10. I heard Little Miss Sunshine was a great movie. I really wanted to see it just never got around to it! Thanks for sharing.

  11. Fun post. I’m bookmarking this one so that I can have a list next time I’m at a loss in Blockbuster!
    ;)

  12. 48colorrainbow

    Good list, though as far as Wes Anderson movies go, I like “The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou” best.

  13. I think Clerks was the first Movie that made me think hey I could do that and made me want to write a film. As for 500 Days of Summer I forget it was a comedy because it hit to close to home and leaned more towards romance. Royal Tenebaums made me realize that humor can be done in many styles. Final High Fidelity is a movie that transcend comedy and makes it a classic. Great list
    Shaun R Daniels
    http://www.horrorhavenreviews.wordpress.com

  14. Wet Hot American Summer would be on my list : )

  15. I got 7 out of 10! Not bad! :D

  16. I can proudly say I have seen most of these!

  17. stephenjbartholomew

    I like this list of “indie” films. Happy to see you included Buffalo ’66. Yet there are many great “indie” films missing from this list. No Spike Lee?

    • Ah, yes, my fatal flaw in failing to include Spike Lee! Rest assured he was in consideration for the shortlist. So was Spike Jonze, if that seems relevant. It probably doesn’t.

    • Oh Please, Spike Lees movies are too serious- there are funny moments but it always seems to have racism as an underlying theme.
      that spoils it- he should keep it light.

  18. i like all your choices except Garden State – i gave that movie three chances and i hated it every time. Why do people like that movie? Honestly. Someone tell me.

    and I love Juno and 500DaysofSummer, they’re two of my favorite movies, but Napolean Dynamite>juno; Away We Go> 500Days, in the purest sense of genre vs comedy – 500 days isnt really that comedic, its more of dramatic irony.

  19. Jailson Rainer

    Very good tip!

  20. All great movies! Sideways and Little Miss Sunshine were breakthroughs for me.

  21. Rarely do I comment but out of that list I have seen and LOVED five of those films. I am going to download the remaining ones because clearly you have awesome taste! FYI Clerks is film genius! Have you seen the follow up?

  22. An excellent selection here. I have seen most, but not all of them. The Royal Tenenbaums is a particular favourite of mine. I’ll have to catch up and see the others that you recommend here. Great post!

  23. I’ll have to check some of these movies out. The only one that I saw was Juno…and I also enjoyed it.

  24. That is a pretty good list. I’ve already seen six of them and now I’ve four more to see.

  25. Great ideas. Grabbing Popcorn now.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

  26. definitely approve of this. I’ve seen all but Buffalo ’66, which I am now interested in seeing because of this list.

    keep up the good work!

  27. I forgot to mention: also notable for this list would be The Darjeeling Limited. Some excellent work there.

  28. All great films, especially Clerks!!

  29. What is amazing about this list is I have actually seen (and LOVED) all of these movies except Buffalo 66 and Eagle vs. Shark.
    Movies are a casualty of my life as a mother of three – I make time to read, but not watch. (I haven’t even seen The King’s Speech or Black Swan, despite being both a fan of ballet and Colin Firth.)
    However, since your taste in movies is obviously sublime, I will make a point of watching these two that have escaped me.

  30. love the list – if expanded to 20 or so, what would you add?

    • Shaun of the Dead, The Celebration (comedy or drama?), Being John Malkovich, Borat, Freeway, Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, Raising Arizona… that’s about all I can name off the top of my head. There’s probably more, but I decided to stick to more commercial, mainstream films.

  31. I am not sure if “Be Kind Rewind” with Mos Def and Jack Black is an indie movie. But it is off bea enough that I love it.

  32. Pretty much a list of some of my most favorite movies EVER!

  33. Fun post! I love love love 500 Days of Summer – Will have to check some of the others out! :)

  34. Raising Arizona is one of my all-time favs and I have seen all on the list. I also love Snatch.

  35. Alive aLwaYs

    I have seen only “500 days of Summer” out of these, and I loved it. It is an awesome movie, departure from traditional romantics, it adds another dimension to the lives of the person being dumped. Nice stuff!

    I am on to downloading “Garden State”, characters are cool, I really loved Scrubs, the words of wisdom at the end of every show, J.D. is cool. Thanks for the catch.

  36. Freshly pressed! Congrats!

  37. joshterzino

    Great list! My only big change would be to switch out Eagle vs Shark for Noah Baumbach’s Kicking and Screaming. Other than that I don’t disagree, really. Buffalo ’66 is such a great movie, but no one seems to have seen it.

  38. Loved “Little Miss Sunshine”! Here’s another funny indie one. “Gentleman Bronco”.

  39. Excellent list. Juno is perhaps the best example of Reitman’s work, I think, but I’m going to throw ‘Thank You For Smoking’ and ‘Up in the Air’ into the mix anyway, because they’re great.

  40. 5 of those films are some of my favorite ever. Pretty good list.

  41. Oh Man, I’ve seen alot of those and I agree. I approve of this list.

  42. Haven’t seen the last one but now i will. :)

  43. Would also like to recommend “Me you and everyone we know”

  44. I’ve almost seen all of them. They’re great, specially High Fidelity!

  45. This is no doubt a terrific list. High Fidelity is especially an important one to mention considering it’s grossly underrated.

  46. Juno was by far my favorite of the ones I’ve seen, there are 3 or 4 I haven’t seen yet though. I’ll check them out, thanks!

  47. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    I have to agree with you about Rushmore versus The Royal Tenenbaums. The Royal Tenenbaums has more heart. (500) Days of Summer is not only a good movie, but a great script to read. I’m planning on writing a post about it.

    I love quirky indie films and loved “A Life Less Ordinary” as a teenager.

  48. Great selection of movies here… I’m a big fan of Clerks and The Royal Tenenbaums. I recently saw Wes Anderson’s The Fantastic Mr. Fox, and I really enjoyed that one, too. Great list!

  49. joshterzino

    Everyone make your own lists and let’s compare!
    Here are mine, in no particular order:
    Rushmore/Bottle Rocket/Royal Tennenbaums, Clerks, Big Lebowski, Kicking and Screaming, Wet Hot American Summer, Ghost World, Thank You For Smoking, In Bruges,Buffalo ’66, Welcome to the Dollhouse, Chasing Amy, Waitress, Leaves of Grass, Saved!, The Matador. Probably enough to start with.

  50. I think mine would go as follows (in no particular order): Clerks, High Fidelity, American Splendor (kind of a comedy?), Sideways, Royal Tenenbaums, Kicking and Screaming, Wet Hot American Summer, Metropolitan, Better Off Dead.

    Great list, though. That Eagle vs. Shark movie looks incredible.

  51. First of all, good job on the list!

    On another note, I too have a blog about movies (in Spanish) but I have stayed clear of this particular post for a while because to nominate great indie films one must first define what IS an indie film. If we go by the book definition, a film made outside any major studio, then you would have to take a few of those nominations outside of your list. For example, Sideways and 500 Days of Summer are NOT indie films because they made by Fox.
    I get that this list goes more along the lines of what we usually mean when we say “indie film”, which is basically any movie that looks non-Hollywood and has that quirky feel and cool soundtrack. Even if this were the case I would still take out Sideways (too boring) and 500 Days of Summer (too predictable) from the list. My favorites are Royal Tenenbaums and Juno.

    Anyways, what do YOU mean by “indie”?

    • Great comment, mt! “Indie,” I suppose, is a rather ambiguous term. I know some of the ones that didn’t make the cut could easily be seen as non-indie. I think indie is synonymous with offbeat, not normal, noticeably different. Not just in comedy, in all genres (see Todd Solondz “Happiness”). Films that are done in a style that just… doesn’t equal the way Hollywood does movies anymore. Indie films, in any way shape or form, should be applauded. Even if a major company decides to invest in them, calling it a ‘Hollywood’ or ‘box-office’ feature just doesn’t seem like the right term anymore… almost derogatory to the film considering the dribble Hollywood is spewing almost incessantly. Indie = original, and that’s all that counts.

  52. joshterzino

    Oops. Forgot Best In Show and Swimming With Sharks

  53. Not much of an Indie fan, but Royal Tenenbaums was great. A great list of actors, Stiller is classic.

  54. Buffalo 66 is the jam!

  55. It’s hard to find comedy with quality.Your list hits the nail. The only movie I’m now curious about for not having seen it is Evil vs. Shark.
    Clerks is probably my pick as the ultimate best indie comedy movie.

  56. Juno is definitely one of my favorite movies to watch, love the dry humor. also love little miss sunshine

  57. Ahh, I would have to add The Darjeeling Limited to this great list. It’s another Wes Anderson with a great cast, and personal favorite of mine.

  58. Clerks is the best!!!
    I’m not even supposed to be here today lol

  59. The Royal Tenenbaums had a $21 million dollar budget. How’s that an “indie film?” A great Touchstone Film, sure, but certainly not independent from the major studios. Perhaps “Ten Great Offbeat Comedies?”

  60. Amazing list, I have to watch The Royal Tenenbaums and Buffalo 66 to get 10/10.

  61. These are basically all of my favourite comedies!

  62. Great choices. Love them all.

  63. Congrats on making Freshly Pressed, I wish I knew the secret to get featured there :D Lots of good ones in here, Royal Tennenbaums, Little Miss Sunshine, (500) Days are all excellent. You’re right, lots of indie flicks are comedies.

  64. eternallyemo

    Clerks, High Fidelity and Juno are three of my all-time favorites! (500) Days of Summer was also very, very good. Garden State was good, not great and Sideways was kinda ‘meh’. Didn’t see the rest, except the Royal Tenenbaums…. which led to the discovery that I am NOT a Wes Anderson fan at all.

    Overall, a great list. I enjoyed this very much. Congrats on FP!

  65. Juno…..that was a gift to the world!! I love that movie!!

    AJ

  66. shade tree photographer

    Clerks is a great choice. 36?!!

  67. gotta say, really disagree with you on garden state. i’ve not really found that movie profound so much as i’ve found it completely fucking boring. no offense to anyone who liked it, but i’ve always found the humor to be so dry as to be nonexistent. it had a couple of slightly humorous moments, but i’ve always found it to be definitely lacking. to me, it’s a film that just goes through the motions, so it’s odd to me that so many people like it.

    • Garden State ain’t the best, definitely, but there’s something about Natalie Portman that’s impossibly hilarious.

      • i dunno. i really found nothing appealing about it, even with the presence of natalie portman.

        at the very least, i’m glad you didn’t put “lost in translation” on your list. that’s another “indie” flick that i feel gets way too much attention.

  68. Good choices all. How could anyone NOT like Juno?

  69. the only one i haven’t seen is the one you praised highest: buffalo ’66. netflix can fix that. great choices, you didn’t try to be super obscure and hip, solid choices!

  70. I still haven’t seen Egale vs. Shark yet, good list. I’m just glad to not see napoleon dynamite on here, that movie was so overrated

  71. I’ve seen all but the last. Was surprised not see Little Miss Sunshine and I <3 Huckabees.

  72. I’m partial to Sideways & Little Miss Sunshine.

  73. 500 Days of Summer . . . it tragically parallels my life in painful cringe-worthy ways, so refreshing to see it listed as a comedy. Plus Joseph Gordon-Levitt . . . a reminder that redemption is still a possibility.

  74. Hell no..The only one I haven’t seen is CLERKS, but there are a lot of pretentious hipster choices in the list…especially Garden State.

  75. Wow. A list that I would not alter if it were mine. Like this will ever happen again. Great list. Great post. Loved it.

  76. I’ve seen all but two of these so i don’t feel so bad. congrats on making freshly pressed

  77. scribblesinnotebooks

    Um… Napoleon Dynamite? Classic indie-turned-hit because it’s just so weird. Also if you like dark humor, ‘In Bruges’ is fantastic as well as ‘Drop Dead Gorgeous’.

    • In Bruges is awesome! Brendan Gleeson is fantastic, and it’s the first time that I found Colin Farrel to have any talent. A truly wonderful film! And the beer… that wonderful Belgian beer!

  78. Haven’t seen Eagle vs. Shark and I abhored 500 Days of Summer. I would have place Napolean Dynamite in it’s place. A pretty good list overall. “Just spannin’ time…”

  79. love clerks! nice post

  80. I’ve seen most of these and they are good! Have you seen The Promotion? It’s really funny. I’m a big John C. Riley fan. Congrats on Freshly Pressed!

    • I’m a fan of John C. Reilly, too, which is why I’m so utterly surprised I haven’t heard of The Promotion. I thought he was brilliant in Boogie Nights and Magnolia. Just seeing him in a movie can really cheer me up.

  81. great list! and proud to say I’ve seen & love them all :)
    A couple of my faves: Stranger Than Fiction and Strictly Ballroom

  82. breydenscott

    Wow. I never realized that I can’t stand indie comedies until I read your list. I don’t mean that in a derogatory way at all, just that I’m kind of surprised by that revelation about myself. Of the ten listed I saw five and hated them. I’ve seen parts of two others and hated them, too. That’s 7/10 with the big thumbs down from me. Maybe I’m too serious.

  83. Awesome list… I’m not ashamed to say that if it wasn’t for certain lists, I’d probably never experience anything… or get anything done… Watching Eagle vs Shark and Buffalo ’66 tonight for sure :)

    Yaay

  84. Most of them I wouldn’t call that Indy and you missed NBT: Never Been Thawed.

  85. Great list! Seen most of them. Love High Fidelity. Great adaption of a highly entertaining book, and it introduced us all to the many talents of Jack Black (how awesome is his rendition of “Let’s Get It On”?).

    Here’s a couple more for your list:
    Swingers – The ultimate movie about male friendship. So so money!
    Made – Swingers Part Deux
    Bottle Rocket – Our introduction to Wes Anderson and the Wilson Brothers

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • I often think Jack Black is trying too hard with his comedy, but High Fidelity is the only movie where we are given a dosage of JB that is just right.

      • Funny thing is, I hated him throughout the film until the very end. He can be pretty overbearing at times, but he definitely has heart and ultimately wins me over. School of Rock is a perfect example of this.

  86. Just thought of a couple more…

    Down by Law – Jim Jarmusch at his weird best. Waits, Benigni, and Lurie are HILARIOUS!
    Being John Malkovich – Wonderfully weird and inspired. Hello Charlie Kauffman!

    • Being John Malkovich just missed the cut. I, too, love Charlie Kaufman. I’m eagerly awaiting my copy of Synecdoche, New York, to arrive!

      • Kaufman is a friggin genius and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is one of the most touching screenplays ever. It also boasts a great, reigned in performance by Jim Carrey. And don’t even get me started on the direction and cinematography. I’ll stop here. Going way off topic. :)

    • Going off topic is nothing to be ashamed of. I like conversations where you don’t know exactly where they’re going. Anyway, back to Kaufman. I love his screenplays, too, and Eternal Sunshine IS a masterpiece. No doubt.

  87. Well, I thought Juno was great, but with name brand actors, I wouldn’t think it was an “Indie” film.
    I couldn’t stand “Sideways”! We rented the video & didn’t get thru half of it before turning it off. Movies about lame-assed people don’t do much for me. Reminds me of The Office and/or Seinfeld (sp?): totally pointless.

  88. This is a great post, have been reminded of some cracking films. I think the list is missing a bit of Hal Hartley, but each to their own. Clerks is one of my all-time favourites.

    Congrats on Freshly Pressed!

    Ash

    http://permanentplastichelmet.com

  89. My favorite is the Royal Tenenbaums, I’ve seen it many times and each time is like the first. Great post, I like your choices

  90. Someone else mentioned Waitress and Saved! I would also add another Ellen Page, Whip It, and Sweet Land, though that one is a little less of a comedy.
    I also am someone who didn’t really like Garden State. The first time I kind of did, then I told a friend we needed to watch it and that time I thought, wait, no we didn’t.

  91. I have never liked Juno or Little Miss Sunshine. I know that it has been touted as a comedy, but I fail to understand where or what the comedy is in those sad films.

  92. Nice post, man. Recommending it!

  93. i love every single movie you’ve talked about. then i’m an indipendent-movie girl :)

  94. i’ve never seen any of these films. a couple i’ve heard of. i’ll probably never see any of them. ever.

  95. THANK YOU FOR SMOKING should be on this list. Maybe even THE DARJEELING LIMITED. Oh!! Also, I HEART HUCKABEES.

    But awesome list. I agree with all choices. Haven’t seen BUFFALO 66, EAGLE VS. SHARK or 500 DAYS OF SUMMER. But been wanting to watch 500 DAYS… for a while now.

    Subscribed!!

  96. r27community

    Excellent choices. Seen them all and appreciate the reminder to revisit a few.

  97. Agree with Buffalo 66 – awesome.

    How indie is indie though? Would be interesting to list budgest of these to see which is ‘indiest’!

  98. Sometimes independent movies are way better than mainstream movies, but because not that many people are aware of them, they don’t get the credit they deserve. (Although I guess if they got that much expsoure, they would be considered mainsteam then ??) Through my friend’s insistence, I saw Juno and Little Miss Sunshine and LOVED them both!:D

    Great post!

  99. i will see next time!

  100. Good list, a couple on their that i’ve yet to check out, but all the one’s that I have seen (Juno, High Fidelity, Garden State, Royal Tenenbaums, Little Miss Sunshine), I enjoyed, so good choices.

  101. Without a doubt, Clerks was your best choice as the number one spot. As an aside, Kevin Smith went on to do Clerks II, Chasing Amy, and Dogma. All worthwhile a view.

  102. I was surprised that I had seen all but 2 (one of which, regrettably, my wife has seen). I think my favorite is Buffalo 66. This is for a couple of reasons. One is that no one else I know can stand it and the other is that is real; it feels real and raw and you feel it. I think that of all of Gallo’s stuff; I get that out of his films, not necessarily as much from the films he is just an actor (Truth and Consequences, N.M. comes to mind). I had recently seen Brown Bunny and thought, ‘wow, this guy is great’.

  103. Buffalo is the only one on this list that I haven’t seen (but now I will see it) and I have to say, I think High Fidelity is the best one on the list. One of the greatest movies of all time!

    Crystal

  104. Great to see Eagle Vs. Shark get any attention from anyone. Hilarious movie.

  105. I’m happy to say that I’ve seen 80% of these movies.

  106. Judging by the blog and the comments i will have to watch all these films. Eagle VS, Shark being number 1 on that list.

  107. Anthony Kraudelt

    All great films but I think some maybe a bit over rated.

    Anthony Kraudelt
    4820 Rands Road
    Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302

  108. Thanks for this post. The only one haven’t seen “Eagle vs. Shark” will check if it’s available on Netflix.

  109. It’s hard to find comedy with quality.Your list hits the nail. The only movie I’m now curious about for not having seen it is Eagle vs. Shark.
    Clerks is probably my pick as the ultimate best indie comedy movie.

  110. Loved that you picked eagle vs shark, such a great, quirky funny film! I haven’t seen Buffalo 66 need to get on that, great list !

  111. Obviously some great picks here…However, I think that there is a significant difference between a true indie film and an indie film that is marketed like a typical Hollywood movie. I think that there is a distinct difference between a film like Eagle Vs. Shark and something like Juno…yes they both can be generalized into the same genre, but they don’t belong in the same bracket of movies

  112. I love these choices. But no one has mentioned my personal favourite, The Opposite of Sex (Lisa Kudrow is wonderful in it).

  113. Great list. What about ‘Wristcutters: a love story’ ?

  114. Great list! My only big change would be to switch out Eagle vs Shark for Noah Baumbach’s Kicking and Screaming. Other than that I don’t disagree, really. Buffalo ’66 is such a great movie, but no one seems to have seen it.

  115. Wow. I never realized that I can’t stand indie comedies until I read your list. I don’t mean that in a derogatory way at all, just that I’m kind of surprised by that revelation about myself. Of the ten listed I saw five and hated them. I’ve seen parts of two others and hated them, too. That’s 7/10 with the big thumbs down from me. Maybe I’m too serious.

  116. Buffalo is the only one on this list that I haven’t seen (but now I will see it) and I have to say, I think High Fidelity is the best one on the list. One of the greatest movies of all time!

  117. puzzle pieces

    Hey I liked this piece even though Iv only seen a few of the films! I must admit I did not like sideways though, something about that film just bored me. I love Juno though. I set up a(small) blog mostly for my own film reviews but it has some other rambings on there, be cool if you had a look. I dont have many up yet but I did write my thoughts on The Garden State which I also like.

    http://purplepuzzlepieces.wordpress.com

  118. Clerks should easily be the #1. And that’s not just my personal bias… Ok, maybe it’s my personal bias, but I’ve seen everyone but eagle vs shark, and the one that had me stuck to my seat, (spoiler alert) complete with the girl that slept with the dead guy in the bathroom and how she’s sure that it’s one of the clerks… That’s class right there. Compare that to a teenage girl getting pregnant. Wow. A sassy teen that gets pregnant. How original. Also, High Fidelity is one of the best flicks ever, complete with an at the time unknown Jack Black and that girl from the Cosby’s. Either way, great list. Love the memories surrounding the event of watching them. Have a great day.

  119. Haven’t watched a since muvi on the list. But, made my mind to watch them, after reading all these comments. :D

  120. Grissoms says the most Austin Powers,Ironicly Untimely,Corny,Witty comments/catchphrases.

  121. thegeekswereright

    Some great choices here. One thing I’ll say about 500 Days of Summer, though I love it: I no longer like Zooey Deschanel, who I used to find lovely. I know it’s not her fault, but still–no one does that to JG Levitt and gets away with it. Also, Zach Braff is waaaay not good enough for Natalie Portman, though I love Garden State anyway. I’d also drop Juno in favor of Rushmore (or any other Wes Anderson flick) because it was waaaay over-hyped.

  122. This is a really cool list of must-see movies, in all, a really good post.
    We check out movies like this too, in addition to video games, applications, and music. Come and support us at mediastrung.wordpress.com!

  123. I would add David O. Russell’s Flirting with Disaster, a lamentably overlooked comedy of an increasingly rare type that seemed to have peaked in the 1970s–brilliantly written, brilliant directed, brilliantly acted, smart as hell, and absolutely hilarious. In the right film (like this one), Ben Stiller shows off one of the sharpest comic instincts around, and Alan Alda and Lily Tomlin are pee-your-pants funny in the dinner-table scene.

  124. You are so right, Buffalo 66 is very funny , and very underrated. In fact I reviewed it last week, if you want to take a look

  125. Stevin Marshall

    A few more for you to see:
    BAGDAD CAFE (not about Iraq, this 1987 light comedy from Percy Adlon is a micro-budget marvel)
    TORCH SONG TRILOGY (there’s only 1 film in this “trilogy” about the life of female-impersonator Harvey Fierstein, best known as the guy who makes Robin Williams into Mrs Doubtfire)
    THE DISH (Sam Neil leads this quirky tale of a remote antennae in Australia that is essential for the broadcasting of the first moon landing)
    WAKING NED (when a lottery-winner in a remote English town dies of shock, the rest of the town try to claim the money)

    also, if you are a true movie fan, then you must see CINEMA PARADISO, a celebration of all that is wonderful about motion pictures.

  126. Studying your site after an online marketers
    outlook. It seems like you have this complete thing down well.
    I’m wondering you use something like Ultimate Demon to provide most of these hyperlinks? Never ever really can be this yes, but it appears to be very decent to me.

  1. Pingback: Ten Great Indie Comedies You Must See (via Southern Vision: A Blog About Movies) | Liturgical

  2. Pingback: An Indie Love Affair « Muvika

  3. Pingback: The Open Bar — ANOMALOUS MATERIAL

  4. Pingback: 365 Days, 316 Posts: Southern Vision’s First Birthday! « Southern Vision

  5. Pingback: 7×7 Link Award « Southern Vision

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,033 other followers

